This is the "Special Collections Librarian" page of the "Dawne Lucas, MSLS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dawne Lucas, MSLS   Tags: history  

Last Updated: Jun 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/content.php?pid=558832 Print Guide Email Alerts
Special Collections Librarian Print Page
  Search: 
 

Special Collections Librarian

Profile Image
Dawne Lucas
Contact Info
Health Sciences Library
CB#7585
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
Phone: 919-966-1776
Send Email
 
 

Schedule an Appointment

Scheduling an appointment to view Special Collections materials is strongly recommended.

Email me to schedule an appointment time, or call 919-962-0500.

Appointment Hours

  Monday-Thursday
  8:00am-4:00pm
  except University holidays

 

Brief Bio

Dawne is the Health Sciences Library's Special Collections Librarian. She is responsible for the HSL's rare book, manuscript, and medical equipment collections. She is also responsible for exhibit preparation and the digital initiatives such as the North Carolina History of Health Digital Collection.

Education

BA, Journalism and Mass Communication, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

BA, History, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

MA, Public History, North Carolina State University

MSLS, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

 

Selected Presentations and Classes

Instructor: Archivists’ Toolkit Workshop, North Carolina Connecting to Collections, October 2012

Instructor: Archival Boot Camp, North Carolina Connecting to Collections, June 2012

Instructor: Archivists’ Toolkit Workshop, North Carolina Library Association, November 2010

Chair/Speaker: “Yes, You Can Use Them!: Customizing Archivists’ Toolkit and Archon for Your Institution,” Society of North Carolina Archivists Annual Meeting, March 2010

Chair/Moderator: “Where is Everyone?: Staying Current with a Small Staff,” Society of American Archivists Annual Meeting, August 2009

Panelist: Roundtable on Unusual Formats in Libraries and Archives, Archivists and Librarians in the History of the Health Sciences Annual Meeting, April 2009

Chair/Moderator: “Not Just Your Medical Charts: The Challenges of Maintaining Medical Archives and History of Medicine Collections,” Society of North Carolina Archivists Spring Meeting, March 2008

 

Professional Activities

Education Committee Chair, Society of North Carolina Archivists.

Publications Committee, Society of North Carolina Archivists.

Co-chair, Science, Technology, and Healthcare Roundtable, Society of American Archivists.

Donald Peterson Student Travel Award Subcommittee, Society of American Archivists.

Member, Archivists and Librarians in the History of the Health Sciences.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip