Davis Library Chat
Foundation Center - comprehensive database on U.S. and global philanthropy
OpenSecrets.org - "Nonpartisan guide to money’s influence on U.S. elections and public policy." See who is giving to various campaigns and causes
GuideStar - Provides financial information on over 1.8 million nonprofits (requires free registration)
Chronicle of Philanthropy - one of the best known publications on the philanthropy
State of North Carolina: Business and Employment - comprehensive resource from the State of North Carolina
Small Business Reference Center - includes a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas
Information on "for-benefit" corporations - companies that integrate social and environmental aims with business approaches
Articles + Catalog
Articles+ - similar to Google Scholar, but with more content.
Google Scholar - enables you to search for peer-reviewed articles across a wide range of disciplines.
JSTOR - important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies.
Academic Search Complete - Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articlesMore databases - a list of databases by subject area.
Government Information and Statistics
Bureau of Labor Statistics - the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) - the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
American FactFinder - provides data from all US Census Bureau surveys and programs.
Statistical Abstract of the United States - comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, with recent data for states and metro areas, as well as some on foreign countries.
GPO Access - service of the U.S. Gov't Printing Office providing free electronic access to information products produced by the Federal Government
ProQuest Congressional - comprehensive source of current and historical bills, testimony, and reports from the US Congress
Congress.gov - free access to a wide range of legislative information on Congress, including the full text of the Congressional Record and bills for the 101st to the present Congress,