This is the "Databases" page of the "Dentistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dentistry  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/dentistry Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Dentistry Liaison

Profile Image
Kate McGraw, MA, MLS
Contact Info
919-966-1855
Health Sciences Library
335 South Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
Email: Kate_McGraw@unc.edu
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

We are here to help!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Email
FAQ
One-on-One Consultation 
Classes
Phone  919 - 962 - 0800
Text/SMS  919 - 584 - 5931

Core Databases

  • PubMed  
      
    Covers journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950 to the present.
  • Google Scholar
    Search for articles, theses, books, preprints, meeting abstracts and technical reports across subject areas. Includes links to Find@UNC in search results.
  • CINAHL with Full Text
    Covers nursing and allied health journals dissertations, conferences, and book chapters from 1982 to the present.
  • EMBASE
    Covers journal articles about drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical medicine, health policy and management, public health...from 1947 to the present.
  • Cochrane Library  
      
    Includes full-text of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) along with several evidence-based databases.
  • Web of Science (ISI)
    Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Tracks # of times an article has been cited.
  • IADR / AADR Meeting Abstracts
    Search for abstracts from 2003 to present.
  • UNC Electronic Theses and Dissertations (2006 - )
  • Exam Master
    Dental Subject Review for NBDE Part I has over 2100 questions covering all of the important basic dental science topics and subjects.
  • Primal Dentistry (Anatomy)
    Provides over 100 3D views of head, neck, face, oral and nasal cavities, dentition, individual teeth in 3D and cross section, nerves, larynx and pharynx, sinuses, eye, brain and more

Clinical Information Tools

  • VisualDx
    A diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. Includes 88 oral mucosa diagnoses illustrated with 865 images.
  • UpToDate
    Includes frequently updated peer-reviewed articles covering major aspects of conditions, including symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options.

Drug Databases

  • Lexicomp ONLINE (Educational use only)
    The only drug information source that has specific categories for Dental Use, Dental Usual Dosing and Effects on Dental Treatment.
  • Facts & Comparisons E Answers
    Provides drug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts.
  • MICROMEDEX 2.0 - *on campus only
    Information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
  • Natural Standard
    Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbal remedies and supplements, with validated rating scales to evaluate quality. Comprehensive monographs designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits available. Mobile version available to UNC users.

Consumer Health Information

  • MedlinePlus (Mouth & Teeth)
    Brings together authoritative information for patients from government agencies and health-related organizations.
  • NC Health Info (Dental Health)
    NC Health Info is an online guide to web sites of quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina.
 

Compare PubMed & Google Scholar

 

Find @ UNC

Click on the Find @ UNC button button in database results to:

Learn more about Find @ UNC.

 

Resource News

Request a new purchase

Updates

Find @ UNC: In database search results, this button now takes you directly to available online articles. More details.

Trial Results: JAMAevidence - Purchased!

 

E-Research Tools (Databases)




 

Access Information

On Campus Access: Electronic resources are accessible on-campus and from the UNC Hospitals' computers. Faculty, students and staff must register personal laptops and mobile devices with UNC Chapel Hill ITS.

Off Campus Access: Access resources off-campus via the Library website by logging in with your Onyen. Most electronic resources are accessible off-campus to students, faculty, and staff, including UNC Hospitals' staff.

Learn about off-campus access IDs.

Report an off-campus access problem.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip