skip navigation

Distance Education: Key Tools

Tips and links specifically for DE groups.


Distance Educations Students

Students enrolled in distance education courses, certificates or degrees through UNC Chapel Hill are provided with full services from campus libraries.

Distance education students can access online library materials, use library guides to help find appropriate materials, use the Ask a Librarian service for personal help and request delivery of print materials to their homes.

This page provides access to these services from the Health Sciences Library.

Document Delivery


The Document Delivery Department of the Health Sciences Library at UNC-Chapel Hill provides two services to Distance Learners:

  1. Delivery of materials owned by the UNC Libraries to your home if you live outside the city of Chapel Hill
  2. Acquiring of materials not owned by the UNC Libraries through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

More information

    Access Information

    Off Campus Access: Most electronic journals, databases, and books are accessible off-campus to students, faculty, and staff, including UNC Hospitals' staff. Always use links on library pages so you will be prompted to enter your ID information.

    Learn about off-campus access IDs.

    Report an off-campus access problem.

    Find @ UNC

    Click on the Find @ UNC button button in database results to:


    Subject Specific Guides

    The following collections of subject guides by discipline will help you find library resources that are specific to your area of study.

    Key Learning Guides

    The following selected guides will help you improve your skills at finding and managing information. Many more HSL Guides are available.


    RefWorks Logo

    Login to RefWorks

    UNC Libraries' subscription to RefWorks will end next August (2017)

    New users who need access after August 2017 should start with another program.

    Current RefWorks users who need access after August 2017 should plan to move their content to another program before that date.

    Here is an online guide that will help with this transition:


    Need more help? HSL offers classes and consultations on Mendeley and EndNote.

    Ask a Librarian

    A to Z Databases

    All campus databases

    • browse by title
    • browse by subject
    • search by database name

    Find E-Journals

    contains starts with is


    PubMed's Journal Database will find the full journal title for a journal abbreviation.

    Find E-Books

    Search the Libraries' Catalog