This is the "Databases" page of the " Drama 286 - 001 Modern Irish Drama, Fall 2012 (Prof. Karen O'Brien) " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
University Libraries banner

Drama 286 - 001 Modern Irish Drama, Fall 2012 (Prof. Karen O'Brien)  

Last Updated: Oct 9, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/dram286-001 Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Waiting for Godot

(image may be subject to copyright)

 

Davis Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Citing

Citing Information Tutorial

citation builder icon

Create citations in the right format using this web form.

refworks icon

Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.

Google Scholar



 

Recommended Databases

Example of a Scholarly Article (seePDF link)

If you need to find a database for a specific subject (e.g., English literature, Women's Studies), search E-Research Tools by Subject, and try the "Recommended Databases."  See also the list of databases for Dramatic Art.


Articles +

What is Articles+?

Discover information on any topic from the UNC library collections using simple search technology powered by Summon. Use Articles+ to find:

  • Scholarly journal articles
  • News articles
  • Ebook content
  • Dissertations

Just enter your search terms and use the options on the left side of the results screen to refine your search. From there you can quickly get to the full text online.  Articles + should be useful for finding production reviews as well as critical articles.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA is the main database for literary criticism and allows for very specific thematic searching combined with individual authors and works (e.g., Carr, Marina and By the Bog of Cats). Or search for thematic  topics: Irish and drama (subjects) and violence (keyword). However, literary criticism may be harder to find for very contemporary authors, even more so for women and/or ethnic authors.  Articles + (above) will link to news publications as well as to journals.

Film & Television Literature Index 

Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.

Bibliography of British and Irish History (limit 3 simultaneous users)

BBIH is the most complete index for British & Irish history.

Dissertations & Theses

Indexes US dissertations from 1861 to as recent as last semester with full text available from 1997 on.

 

Retrospective Databases

Use these database to find older articles about and reviews of plays.

Articles +   Limit by date to get early reviews, articles.

Gale NewsVault   Provides full text of a number of 19th & 20th century British & U.S. newspapers, etc.

Periodicals Archive Online  Provides full text of journals from late 17th century to 1990s (also searches British Periodicals).  Select Article Search & search for title keywords, e.g., Synge and Playboy -- or just Synge more broadly.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Provides full text of a number of American newspapers, e.g., New York Times, Washintong Post.

 

Irish Studies Journals

Eire-Ireland  (Project Muse version, 2004 - to present)

Irish Literary Supplement (2002 - present)

Irish Studies Review  (1992 - 96; 1998 - 18 mos. ago)

Irish Theatre Magazine

Irish University Review (2002 - present)

Irish Political Studies  (01/01/1986 to 01/31/1996)

New Hibernia Review (2001 - present)

Etudes Irlandaises

Davis DA925 .E86 (1972 - present)

The Canadian journal of Irish studies

Davis PR8700 .C3 (1975 - 2009)

 

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Tommy Nixon
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-1151
Send Email
 

William Butler Yeats (Nobel Lecture)

(image may be subject to copyright)

 

Abbey Theater (1904)

(image may be subject to copyright)

 

bloody Living

(image may be subject to copyright)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip