This is the "Databases" page of the "Drama 289 - 001: Contemporary Irish Drama, Spring 2013 (Prof. Karen O'Brien)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Drama 289 - 001: Contemporary Irish Drama, Spring 2013 (Prof. Karen O'Brien)  

Last Updated: Apr 7, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/dram289-001 Print Guide Email Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Woman and Scarecrow

(image may be subject to copyright)

 

Davis Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Citing

Citing Information Tutorial

citation builder icon

Create citations in the right format using this web form.

refworks icon

Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.

 

Recommended Databases

Example of a Scholarly Article (seePDF link)

If you need to find a database for a specific subject (e.g., English literature, Women's Studies), search E-Research Tools by Subject, and try the "Recommended Databases."  See also the list of databases for Dramatic Art.

 

Articles +

What is Articles+?

Discover information on any topic from the UNC library collections using simple search technology powered by Summon. Use Articles+ to find:

  • Scholarly journal articles
  • News articles
  • Ebook content
  • Dissertations

Just enter your search terms and use the options on the left side of the results screen to refine your search. From there you can quickly get to the full text online.  Articles + should be useful for finding production reviews as well as critical articles.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA is the main database for literary criticism and allows for very specific thematic searching combined with individual authors and works (e.g., Carr, Marina and By the Bog of Cats). Or search for thematic  topics: Irish and drama (subjects) and violence (keyword). However, literary criticism may be harder to find for very contemporary authors, even more so for women and/or ethnic authors.  Articles + (above) will link to news publications as well as to journals.

Bibliography of British and Irish History (limit 3 simultaneous users)

BBIH is the most complete index for British & Irish history.

History Search: America, History & Life/Historical Abstracts

These two databases combined index books & articles for the history of the world, from the Renaissance to today and for North America from the time of the indigenous peoples.

LexisNexis Academic

LexixNexis provides the full text of hundreds of newspapers worldwide.  Search the News category.

Dissertations & Theses

Indexes US dissertations from 1861 to as recent as last semester with full text available from 1997 on.

GenderWatch

A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.

 

Irish Studies Journals

The Canadian journal of Irish studies

Davis PR8700 .C3

Eire-Ireland  (Project Muse version, 2004 - present)

Etudes Irlandaises

Davis DA925 .E86 (1972 - present)

Irish Literary Supplement (2002 - present)

Irish Studies Review  (1992 - 96; 1998 - 1 yr. ago)

Irish Theatre Magazine

Irish University Review (2002 - present)

New Hibernia Review (2001 - present)

 

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Tommy Nixon
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-3808
Send Email
 

Bloody Living

(image may be subject to copyright)

 

The New Electric Ballroom

(image may be subject to copyright)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip