AskFindAppraiseApplyEvaluate
StatisticsEvidenceWritingDatabases
This is the "Databases" page of the "Evidence-Based Physical Therapy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Evidence-Based Physical Therapy   Tags: learning_module, physical_therapy  

Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/ebpt-home Print Guide Email Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases for Evidence-Based Searching

PEDro

PEDro is the Physical therapy Evidence Database produced by the Center for Evidence- Based Physiotherapy (CEPB), based at the school of Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney, Australia.   PEDro provides access to abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.   It is accessible free of charge via the Internet.   The controlled trials in PEDro are all rated with a methodological quality score, which is useful in terms of enabling users to quickly assess the validity of each trial.   

Hooked on Evidence

Hooked on Evidence is an online database of research evidence produced by the American Physical Therapy Association . Unfortunately, access to this database is by paid subscription. Hooked on Evidence contains articles, abstracts from research, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.   Each abstract contains the purpose, study design, participants, method, interventions and outcomes. One of the useful features of this database is the inclusion of measures of effect size, which is useful in determining treatment effectiveness in terms of achieving an outcome.

PubMed

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text provides selected full text access to over 300 journals, out of more than 2,700 journals indexed. The CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) database covers the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. CINAHL with Full Text also contains full text of legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. (Source: vendor website.)

Abledata

ABLEDATA provides objective information on assistive technology and rehabilitation equipment available from domestic and international sources to consumers, organizations, professionals, and caregivers within the United States. We serve the nation's disability, rehabilitation, and senior communities. ABLEDATA is sponsored by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR), part of the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS) of the U.S. Department of Education.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

SPORTDiscus covers both serial and monographic literature on sports, fitness, and related disciplines, and provides selected full text access to more than 400 full text titles, out of thousands of journals indexed. For a list of the full text titles included, connect to resource and then click on the "Full Text Publications" link.

PsycINFO

Containing literature dating from 1885-present, PsycINFO includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines (like PT). It provides access to books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.

Cochrane Library

This database includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of health care prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two sections: Complete reviews - Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups (see Summary of CRG Output, under About the Cochrane Collaboration - Collaborative Review Groups for a listing of reviews and protocols organized by Collaborative Review Group) [and] Protocols - Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. (Source: vendor website)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.

Previous

 

Related Guides

Physical Therapy Resources

Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice (Joint Duke-UNC effort)

EBP Resources for Physical Therapy (Duke Medical Center Library)

  • Access Databases from UNC guide not Duke guide.  Other resources on Duke guide will work for UNC users. 
 

Ask a Librarian

We are here to help!

Email or Chat
FAQ
One-on-One Consultation 
Classes
Phone  919 - 962 - 0800
Text/SMS  919 - 584 - 5931

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip