AskFindAppraiseApplyEvaluate
StatisticsEvidenceWritingDatabases
This is the "Resources" page of the "Evidence-Based Physical Therapy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Evidence-Based Physical Therapy   Tags: learning_module, physical_therapy  

Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/ebpt-home Print Guide Email Alerts

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Evidence-Based Physical Therapy

NOTE:  APTA: Research Section link, below, includes links to Hooked on Evidence and Open Door.  APTA Members (including student members) receive free access to these evidence based resources.

A few Journal Articles about Evidence-Based Practice in Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation

Evidence-Based Practice Resources & Training

  • Academic Center for Evidence-Based Practice (UT-SA)
    At the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, the purpose of ACE is to advance cutting-edge, state-of-the-art evidence-based practice, research, and education within an interprofessional context.
  • Centre for Evidence Based Medicine
    Tutorial & tools from Oxford University.
  • Cochrane Library
    Rigorous and up-to-date research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions. Includes full-text of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), & the NHS Economic Evaluation Database
  • EBP Education Center of Excellence
    From the North Carolina Area Health Education Center, this site provides a collection of resources that support teaching and learning in Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) for faculty, librarians, students, and other health care professionals
  • Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice (EBBP)
    The EBBP.org project creates training resources to help bridge the gap between behavioral health research and practice. Selected trainings now available for Continuing Education (CE) Credit by the American Psychological Association (APA).
  • Evidence-Based Counseling: Implications for Counseling
    This 1999 Digest states that the integration of research into counseling through an evidence-based approach actually brings the best elements of practice, clinical experience, and reliable treatment protocols together to serve the task of helping clients with the complex problems they bring to counseling.
  • Evidence-Based Medicine Toolkit (U Alberta)
    From the University of Alberta, this is a collection of tools for identifying, assessing and applying relevant evidence for better health care decision-making
  • Evidence-Based Practice: Methods, Models, & Tools for Mental Health Professionals
    Stout, C.E. & R.A. Hayes. John Wiley & Sons: 2005.
    Detailed guidance discuss how to understand, evaluate, and implement evidence-based practice from psychologists and psychiatrists
  • Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial (UNC & Duke)
    From UNC and Duke University, this tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Medicine
  • JAMAevidence
    Tools for students and clinicians to evaluate and interpret medical literature and make the best treatment decisions for their patients.
  • Joanna Briggs Institute Complete (JBI)
    From the University of Adelaide, this resources offers JBI's well-respected resources for evidence-based practice: evidence summaries, systematic reviews, best practices information sheets, evidence based recommendations, consumer information sheets, and more, with a large suite of tools to support them. Focuses on nursing and health sciences.
  • More Tutorials about Evidence-Based Practice
    HSL tutorials about Evidence-Based Practice in many fields and areas
 

Statistics Resources for EBPT

Evidence-Based Medicine Stats Calculator

  • Diagnostic Test: Calculates Sensitivity, Specificity, PPV, NPV, LR+, and LR.
  • Prospective Study: Calculates Relative Risk (RR), Absolute Relative Risk (ARR), and Number Needed to Treat (NNT).
  • Case-control Study: Calculates Chi-squared and OR.
  • Randomized Controlled Trial: Calculates Relative Risk, Absolute Relative Resk, Number Needed to Treat, Chi-squared, and OR.

Diagnostic Test Calculator

  • Determines diagnostic test characteristics: Prevalence, sensitivity, specificity, likelihood ratios, etc.
  • Determines post-test probabilities given pre-test probabilities & test characteristics.
 

EBPT Guide Citations

Bury, T. J., & Mead, J. M. (Eds.). (1998)  Evidence-based healthcare: A practical guide for therapists.   Oxford: Butterworth Heinemann.

Hammell, K. W., & Carpenter, C. (Eds.). (2004)  Qualitative research in evidence-based rehabilitation. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone.

Herbert R., Jamtvedt, G., Mead, J. & Hagen, K. B. (2005)  Practical evidence-based physiotherapy.   Edinburgh:   Elsevier Butterworth Heinemann.

Herbert, R. D., Sherrington, C., Maher, C., & Moseley, A. M. (2001)  Evidence-based practice: imperfect but necessary.   Physiotherapy Theory and Practice , 17(3), 201-211.  

Koes, B. W.   (1997) Now is the time for evidence based physiotherapy.   Physiotherapy Research International , (2)2, iv-v.

Maher, C., Moseley, A., Sherrington, C., & Herbert , R. (2001) Core journals of evidence-based Physiotherapy practice.   Physiotherapy Theory and Practice , 17(3), 143-151.  

O'Brien, M. A. (2001) Keeping up-to-date: continuing education, practice improvement strategies, and evidence-based physiotherapy practice.   Physiotherapy Theory and Sherrington, C., Moseley, A., & Herbert, R. (2001). Guest editorial. Physiotherapy Theory and Practice , 17(3), 125-126.

 

Related Guides

Physical Therapy Resources

Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice (Joint Duke-UNC effort)

EBP Resources for Physical Therapy (Duke Medical Center Library)

  • Access Databases from UNC guide not Duke guide.  Other resources on Duke guide will work for UNC users. 
 

Ask a Librarian

We are here to help!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Email
FAQ
One-on-One Consultation 
Classes
Phone  919 - 962 - 0800
Text/SMS  919 - 584 - 5931

 

With Thanks To...

This guide was developed with assistance from the following people:

John Mark Bojanski, Graduate Research Assistant, Health Sciences Library.

Isaac Huffman, MSLS, former Graduate Research Assistant, Health Sciences Library; Librarian.

Kate McGraw, MA, MLS, Assistant Department Head for User Services and Liaison to the School of Dentistry.

This guide was developed by the Health Sciences Library in collaboration with the Division of Physical Therapy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip