This is the "Research on Nobel Laureates" page of the "English 445 - 001: American Literature, 1900 - 2000 (Prof. Heidi Kim)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 445 - 001: American Literature, 1900 - 2000 (Prof. Heidi Kim)  

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/engl445-001 Print Guide Email Alerts

Research on Nobel Laureates Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

William Faulkner/Nobel Acceptance Speech

 

(image may be subject to copyright)

 

Davis Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Citing

Citing Information Tutorial

citation builder icon

Create citations in the right format using this web form.

refworks icon

Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.

 

Ernest Hemingway & Reflects on EH

(Image may be subject to  copyright)

 

Background on American Nobel Laureates

Literature Resource Center

The LRC provides biographical and critical information on many authors.  It includes the text of the more than 350 print volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography Davis Library Reference (1st floor) PS21 .D5185 (Row 12) Search the LRC for Person By or About (e.g., Joseph Brodsky). DLB volumes 329 - 331 (parts 1 - 4) are devoted to Nobel Laureates in Literature. Essays from these volumes are linked below and include primary & secondary author bibliographies, the Nobel Presentation Speech, and the authors' Nobel Acceptance Speeches.  The seondary bibliographies in the essays may provide references to articles written at the time of the Nobel award. The print volumes include many illustrations absent from the online essays.

See the full list of Nobel Laureates for Literature

Dictionary of Literary Biography Essays on American Nobel Laureates

Sinclair Lewis (1930 Nobel Prize, Literature)

Eugene O'Neill  (1936 Nobel Prize, Literature)

Pearl Buck (1938 Nobel Prize, Literature)

William Faulkner (1949 Nobel Prize, Literature)

Ernest Hemingway (1954 Nobel Prize, Literature)

John Steinbeck (1962 Nobel Prize, Literature)

Saul Bellow  (1976 Nobel Prize, Literature)

Isaac Bashevis Singer (1978 Nobel Prize, Literature)

Czeslaw Milosz  (1980 Nobel Prize, Literature)

Joseph Brodsky (1987 Nobel Prize, Literature)

Toni Morrison (1993 Nobel Prize, Literature)

 

 

Historical Newspapers & Magazines


Use these databases to identify contemporary articles on the Nobel Laureates from newspapers, magazines, & scholary journals.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

This database includes 11 digitized historical newspapers, including the New York Times, L.A. Times, etc.  To search for contemporary articles first determine the date that the Nobel was awarded and search roughly during that period.  For example, Eugene O'Neill received the Nobel in 1936.  One search might be: "Eugene O'Neill" and "Nobel Prize" -- then limit date to Before 1938. 

JSTOR

JSTOR is an excellent, searchable collection of major scholarly journals.  There may not be a lot of contemporary scholarly journal reaction to the Nobel, but it is worth a try.  Allow a broader date range for your search, & try a 'full text" search, e.g. "Eugene O'Neill" and "Nobel Prize"  and Date Range 1935 - 1940.

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890 - ca.1982)

Readers' Guide Retro. is an important index to popular magazines for the period indicated, e.g. The Atlantic Monthy, The Nation.  However, many on these magazines have Not yet been digitized and may only exist in print (most of which the Library holds). Bound print journals (in Davis Library) are given a call number just like a book, then arranged by volume/year.  First try your search, e.g. john steinbeck  and nobel, then Limit by Date, 1961 - 1965. From the article citation, select the Find@UNC icon.  If the article happens to be full text (unlikely), select it.  If not full text, then select the Look for this in print in the UNC Libraries link.If we have the magazine for this particular date & issue, you should get a library location and call number for the magazine/journal.  If this fails, also search the catalog (below) for a Journal Title search (pull down menu) to double check.

Academic Search Complete (ca. 1975 - present)
Try this database for articles since approximately 1975. This links to much full text and indexes a mix of popular magazines & scholarly journals.

 

 

UNC catalog search with Links (search opens in new window)

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Tommy Nixon
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-3808
Send Email
 

Toni Morrison/Nobel Acceptance Speech

(Image may be subject to copyright)

 

Pearl S. Buck/The Good Earth with Luise Rainer

(Image may be subject to copyright)

 

James Dean East of Eden Trailer

(Image may be subject to copyright)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip