Each entry contains biographical information about a writer or editor who either wrote advocacy journalism or edited one or more publications that featured such material. Among those profiled here are William F. Buckley Jr., Eldridge Cleaver, Germaine Greer, Pete Hamill, Karl Marx, H. L. Mencken, George Orwell, Thomas Paine, Wilfrid Sheed, Gloria Steinem, and Jonathan Swift.
Articles, obituaries, and books for 300,000 public figures (writers, artists, sports figures, politicians, religious leaders, scientists, educators, military leaders, business people, and more). 1946-1983.
Men and women, both famous and notorious, are described. The online version includes over 17,000 persons covered in the print edition, plus a constantly expanding number of others. In addition, this resource also contains a Teacher's Guide and The Oxford Companion to American History. This now definitive work is the successor to the classic Dictionary of American Biography.
The print edition, 24 volumes plus two supplements, is held in Davis Library Reference and Undergraduate Library Reference, call number CT213 .A68 1999, and in the North Carolina Collection Reading Room, call number CRBo A51g.
When finished, please exit by clicking on the "LOGOUT" button at the top righthand corner of the screen. Please note that a maximum of five users may access this resource simultaneously.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes various editions of over 700 biographical reference sources, both current and retrospective, that cover historical as well as contemporary figures. For example, the earlier 1994 edition provides access to some 9.2 million citations for 3.5 million people worldwide -- from all fields of endeavor. Examples of sources indexed would include many of the "Who's Who" indexes, a number of the "Oxford Companions," and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. A complete list of sources and editions is given in the appendix accompanying the documentation.
The new completely revised and updated edition in 60 print volumes is also now available online, covering over 50,000 individuals. The online version also provides access to the text of the original 33 volume edition. The new print Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is in Davis Reverence, call number DA28 .O94 2004.
It lists over 120,000 researchers, and for each, it includes such information as birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available.
Using scanned images of actual census records, called "census schedules," you can search by name and limit to year and location. Decennial censuses from 1790 to 1820 and from 1860 to 1930 are included, though not necessarily complete at this time. You can also search for family information contained in 24,000 books and 2.1 million articles. Microfilm versions of "census schedules" for Southern States are available in Davis Microforms Collection, 1-2327.
Beginning or professional genealogists can use this online library, with original page images for all documents. With over 25,000 books, the entire U.S. Federal Census, PERSI™, and other expanding collections, HeritageQuest Online provides the chance to tap in to one of the largest collections of genealogy material in the country.
The material is compiled by Oxford University Press from their many reference works, such as Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, various Oxford Companions, and the African American National Biography.