This guide is designed for general research in French literature, history, culture, and identity, especially as it is reflected to the study and imaging of America.
- Home/General Databases - Subject Librarian contact information and Quick Links
- Searching - Search boxes for the Library Catalog, WorldCat, and Google Scholar as well as so relevant searches
- French Resources - French language resources online and in print
- Film & Cinema - Links to the MRC and important review sites
These are full-text databases provide general coverage of issues relating to Francophone studies.
- MLA International Bibliography
MLA indexes literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
Full-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
- Academic Search Complete
Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information, and other topics such as biographical information.
- International Medieval Bibliography
IMB is the essential electronic bibliography for works in the the humanities
- Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. and provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
- Literature Resource Center
Offers critical and biographical information about authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, as well as author biographies and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Dissertations & Theses@University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill provides indexing and some full text access to dissertations completed here at Chapel Hill and submitted to the Dissertations Abstracts database.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It contains annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square
- Periodicals Index Online
Periodical Index Online provides keyword indexing to the contents of over 4700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, and includes separate records for approximately 15 million journal articles across 37 subject areas and 44 languages and dialects.