MLA indexes literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
Academic Search Premier provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
LexisNexis Academic is a web-based service that provides access to most of the information formerly available on the LexisNexis Educational Program (approximately 75% of the titles). It covers general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many of the files are full-text. LexisNexis Academic is a service of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
The International Medieval Bibliography has been produced in print form since 1968 by the International Medieval Institute (University of Leeds). Coverage is drawn from over 4,000 periodicals as well as from miscellaneous collections of conference proceedings, essay collections, and Festschriften.
Please click on the 'Enter Databases' link. Then select 'International Medieval Bibliography - Online'.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. and provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Free-text searching and complete indexing makes Ethnic NewsWatch easy to search. Publishers retain original copyright. For reprint information beyond fair use, contact individual publisher(s). Click on the publication logo to learn more about a publication.
Offers critical and biographical information about authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, as well as author biographies and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, thousands of plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, over 100,000 author biographies, several thousand author portraits, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
The ARTFL Project texts range from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
In order to provide access to a large body of word samples, it was decided to transcribe an extensive selection of French texts for use with a computer. Twenty years later, a corpus totaling some 150 million words had been created, representing a broad range of written French -- from novels and poetry to biology and mathematics -- stretching from the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries. It soon became apparent that this corpus of French texts was an important resource not only for lexicographers, but also for many other types of humanists and social scientists engaged in French studies - on both sides of the Atlantic. The result of this realization was American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) -- a cooperative project established in 1981 by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago. The ARTFL project has focused on three objectives over the past eight years: to include a variety of texts so as to make the database as versatile as possible; to create a system that would be easily accessible to the research community; to provide researchers with an easy-to-use but effective tool.
The Database: At present the corpus consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. We have also recently added a Provençal database that includes 38 texts in their original spellings. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions.
New Opportunities for Research: The ARTFL database is one of the largest of its kind in the world. The number, variety and historical range of its texts allow researchers to go well beyond the usual narrow focus on single works or single authors. The database permits both the rapid exploration of single texts, and the inter-textual research of a kind virtually impossible without the aid of a computer. (Source: vendor website.)
Project Muse provides access to the full text of more than 40 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics published by The Johns Hopkins University Press. The collection may be searched collectively or individually.
Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. (From vendor site).
JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.
UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. A moving end-date wall excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
UNC patrons also have access to the current files of subscribed e-journals. You can search the database by journal title, subject categories, author, or keywords in the text as well as limit your search by date, subject category, or type, e. g., article or review. You also have the ability to print or download in TIFF (Tagged Image File Format) as well as PDF and PostScript formats.
See ARTstor’s complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library’s ARTstor guide.
Developed and maintained by the Bibliotheque Nacional de France, Gallica provides access to over one million items, including books, manuscripts, scores, audio files, and more. While Gallica is not exclusively dedicated to Medieval and Early Modern works, it maintains a very strong collection in this time period. The interface is accessible in both English and French.
This digital library brings together digital collections of member institutions. Many journals will be linked from the UNC catalog. Monographs should be searched within the Haithi Trust. Some materials are restricted (generally by copyright) and available in full-text.
There are more than sixty partner institutions in Hathi Trust worldwide. This archive includes both serial and monograph publications from various times and in multiple languages. Not all titles are linked from the catalog or WorldCat. Some materials are available full-text and some materials, particularly those still protected by copyright, are not. Some titles not available in Hathi Trust may be available through other institutions or may be freely available elsewhere on the web.
To download full PDFs of public domain & open access items: Click 'Login' and then select University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as the HathiTrust Partner Institution. Then enter your Onyen/Password on the resulting page, before being returned to the HathiTrust site.