This is the "Home" page of the "FREN 388 The History of French Cinema" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FREN 388 The History of French Cinema  

Last Updated: Feb 20, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/fren388-001 Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this guide?

This guide will provide links to critical literature and primary resources for the study of French Cinema.

This page is divided into four sections:

1) Home - General Library Information and Library Databases

2) Searching - Includes searching the catalog, WorldCat, and Google Scholar

3) French Film Resources - Projects and Databases Useful for this Course

4) General Film Resources - Learn about the MRC, Find Films and Streaming Media, Links to Review Literature

Relevant Databases

These are full-text databases provide general coverage of issues relating to French studies.

  • MLA International Bibliography
    MLA indexes literary and some film criticism, cultural studies, etc. from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
  • CAIRN
    Full-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles, ca. 1980 to present.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    Provides full-text access to general, regional and international news, film reviews, and other topics such as biographical information, ca. 1980 to present.
  • Ethnic Newswatch
    Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. and provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Offers critical and biographical information about authors from the Classical period to the present.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
  • Periodicals Index Online
    Periodical Index Online provides keyword indexing to the contents of over 4700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. The scope is international.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Tommy Nixon
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-3808
Send Email

West European Librarian & GRAS Section Head

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip