LexisNexis Academic is a web-based service that provides access to most of the information formerly available on the LexisNexis Educational Program (approximately 75% of the titles). It covers general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many of the files are full-text. LexisNexis Academic is a service of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
• Information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
• Provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Academic Search Premier provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
The New York Times, in the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database, offers 3,400,000 pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper, from 1851 to 2 or 3 years ago.
Researchers can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. They can use the searchable ASCII text that underlies images of articles and pages to search by keyword, using Boolean operators and more advanced searching techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed bibliographic information for the articles retrieved, including article title, publication, issue date, author, and page number. To see a complete article, a researcher simply clicks on the title in the list and the system displays the image of the full article, "threaded" to include all graphics and continuations on other pages as a single unit. Researchers also can display the complete image of any page in any issue or even browse the database and scan individual issues page by page. The database is available on the Web through ProQuest.