This is the "Home" page of the "Heather Gendron" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Heather Gendron  

Last Updated: Jan 27, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/gendron Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Art Librarian

Profile Image
Heather Gendron
Contact Info
Sloane Art Library
102 Hanes Art Center
(919) 962-2397
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Architecture
 
 

How Can Heather Help You?

Hi, I am Head of UNC's Sloane Art Library and am happy to answer any questions you may have related to art, art history, architecture, and design.  I enjoy talking with students and faculty about their research and creative projects.  If you have any suggestions for new items to add to our collections, please let me know.  

In general, I can:

  • help you find articles, images, and books related to art, architecture, and design
  • assist you in refining your research topic and search strategies
  • introduce you to tools that can help you work more effectively and efficiently 


If you are faculty or teach a course at UNC, I can also:

  • assist you with the creation of assignments that more effectively integrate research and information skills that students need today
  • help you overcome obstacles in teaching students how to conduct their research for your course effectively
  • meet with your students to help them hone their research skills, through in-class workshops and individual consultations
  • discuss options for archiving your research "data", image collections and publications
  • disscuss what support is available for "digital humanities" projects


Experience/Research/Education:

I have been an art and architecture librarian since 2001 and have been with UNC Libraries since 2008.  My art-related research currently focuses on the management and preservation of visual artists' studio archives.  As an artist, I have worked in a variety of media, namely printmaking, textiles, and ceramics.

Curriculum Vitae

BFA, Purchase College (SUNY)

MLIS, The University of Texas at Austin

 

Art-Related Research: Recent Activities

Grants

Artist Support Partners Grant, Joan Mitchell Foundation (2012) Awarded $12,500 for the project “Artists’ Studio Archives: Research & Publication” with partners Neal Ambrose-Smith (independent artist and consultant), Joan Beaudoin (School of Library and Information Science, Wayne State), and Eumie Imm-Stroukoff (Georgia O’Keefe Museum Library and Archive).

H.W. Wilson Foundation Research Award (ARLIS/NA), 2012 “Studio Archives: Voices of Living Artists, Their Assistants, and Archivists /Phase II: Artists Working in Digital and Video Media” was awarded $2,200.

UNC Chapel Hill – University Research Council, Small Grant (2009) Awarded $1,400 to cover the costs associated with an on-site interview at the studio of artist Cai Guo Qiang that explored issues related to the management of the artist’s archive and personal library.

Presentations/Publications

Peer review editor, Art Documentation:  Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 2009-present.

Studio Archives:  Voices of Living Artists, Their Assistants, and Archivists, presented with Eumie Imm-Stroukoff.  Artists' Records in the Archives Symposium, Archivists Round Table of Metropolitan New York.  October 11-12, 2011.

Paving the Way for an Uncertain Future:  Teaching Art Information Management in the 21st Century (organizer of panel and speaker), 2011 VRA + ARLIS/NA Conference, Minneapolis, MN, March 27, 2011.

Fireworks, Fire Flowers, Gunpowder Drawings and Explosion Events – A View Into the Archive of Living Artist Cai Guo-Qiang  (paper presented on the panel Documenting Now: Living Artists and their Archives)  Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) 38th Annual Conference, Boston, MA.  April 24, 2010.

Subject Guides

Spacer
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip