These materials, from about 2500 periodicals worldwide, include journal articles, books, reviews, papers, and multi-author works. The authors are Western scholars and Muslims writing in European languages.
The bibliography covers numerous disciplines such as bibliography, history of the Islamic book, education, religion and theology, philosophy, science and mathematics, architecture, music, theater and drama, geography and ecology, anthropology and sociology, archaeology, cookery, epigraphy, economics, history, political thought, politics and current affairs, and the languages and literatures of countries and regions worldwide.
Periodicals devoted solely to the fields of Islam are indexed completely. Other journals are indexed only for articles on Islamic subjects.
Citations for dissertations from 1980 on include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 forward have 150 word abstracts.The database covers work done at more than a thousand institutions, primarily in the United States but also in Canada and Great Britain, and at other European universities for recent years.In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library.
A series of intimate, 10-minute portraits explores the lives and beliefs of six young people whose usual places of worship are beautiful and historic mosques in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East...The seven wonders of the title include: The Grand Mosque in Mecca; The Al-Aqsa Mosque in Jerusalem; The Alhambra in Granada, Spain; The Blue Mosque in Istanbul; The Great Mosque of Djenne in Mali; The Imam Mosque in Esfahan, Iran; and The Badshahi Mosque in Lahore, Pakistan. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (60 minutes)
Encyclopaedia of Islam has long been the definitive publication covering the whole scope of Islamic religion, life, and culture. The Encyclopaedia highlights famous individual Muslims, tribes and dynasties, the sciences and the arts, institutions and organizations, and the history and geography of Islamic countries.
"...written from a regional perspective from partner news agencies in the Middle East. It is a comprehensive source for news and opinion that is coming directly from the Arab World." It includes stories written in English from many different Middle East News Agencies (source: LexisNexis website).
It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database. The following national newspapers are included in this resource: