AccessScience turns the world's leading science encyclopedia, The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, into an updated database that delivers the high-quality information synonymous with the print publication with the immediacy that only the online environment can provide. Look for these important features in AccessScience: full search capabilities of the 8th edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, new and revised content from the Encyclopedia's editors and contributors, updated regularly, recent research developments, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, new references, links to related web sites, learning resources and study guides, added illustrations, and much more. (Source: vendor website.)
Today's Science is a reference database that seeks to bridge the gap between textbooks and what's happening in science today. In a language and format designed specifically for students, it presents the latest scientific discoveries and the fundamental concepts that underlie them. Drawing on major scientific journals, magazines and newspapers in the United States and abroad, Today's Science covers health, the environment, technology, life science, physical science, earth and space science, and science and society. Today's Science presents and enhances the full backfile of Today's Science on File, a permanent record of significant developments in science and technology published monthly since September 1992. Today's Science also offers expanded teacher content, including menu access to articles that match specific National Science Education Standards.
It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database. The following national newspapers are included in this resource:
LexisNexis Academic is a web-based service that provides access to most of the information formerly available on the LexisNexis Educational Program (approximately 75% of the titles). It covers general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many of the files are full-text. LexisNexis Academic is a service of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Google Scholar UNC
Plagiarism and the Honor System
Plagiarism A handout from the UNC Writing Center that defines plagiarism and explains how to avoid it.
Academic Search Premier provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
The ASAP version of Expanded Academic Index adds full-text for many titles. The database integrates core titles in every major academic concentration, including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences; area-specific and issue-specific journals; academic journals with application in the professions; and publications with national news coverage and commentary. (Source: vendor website.)
Over 2,000 journals are fully covered, and an additional 3,000 are selectively covered. More than 2,000 books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports are also covered. Subjects include: cartography, hydrology, climatology, meteorology, energy, paleontology, environment, petrology, geochemistry, photogrammetry, geomorphology, sedimentology, geophysics, volcanology. (Source: vendor website.)