This is the "Home" page of the "GEOL 076: Energy Resources for a Hungry Planet" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GEOL 076: Energy Resources for a Hungry Planet  

Last Updated: Mar 30, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/geol076 Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

GEOL 076

 

Reference Sources

AccessScience
An online encyclopedia of science plus news, images, and study guides.

Today's Science
Science in the headlines, suggestions of research topics, and more.

 

News Articles

America's Newspapers
Full-text articles from U.S. newspapers.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to general, regional and international news.

Google Scholar UNC

 

Plagiarism and the Honor System

Plagiarism
A handout from the UNC Writing Center that defines plagiarism and explains how to avoid it.

UNC Honor System

 

Suggested Readings

Goodstein (2004). Out of Gas: the end of the age of oil. TN870 .G645 2004.

Roberts (2004). The end of oil: on the edge of a perilous new world. HD9650.6 .R63 2004.

Deffeyes (2005). Beyond oil: the view from Hubbert's peak. HD9502.A2 D44 2005.

Bent (2002). Energy : science, policy, and the pursuit of sustainability. TJ163.2 .E4865 2002.

Skinner (1986). Earth resources. TN153 .S56 1986.

 

UNC catalog search

   

 

Academic Journal Articles

Articles +  Provides a unified search of UNC library collections, including article databases, news articles, ebook content, and dissertations. Just enter your search terms and use the options on the left sides of the results screen to refine your search. From there you can quickly get to the full text online.

Academic Search Complete
Abstracts & references for articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade & general publications, & references for The NY Times.

Expanded Academic ASAP
Provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.

 

Internet Resources

Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
Links to and describes U.S. government programs related to renewable energy. The EERE is a division of the U.S. Department of Energy.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Information about NREL's research and development of renewable fuels and electricity.

Energy Resources Program
Energy related fact sheets, news, and research publications from the U.S. Geological Survey.

U.S. Department of Energy
Provides links to different types of energy sources, price information, and statistics.

Energy Information Administration
Official energy statistics from the U.S. government presented by type of energy source.

Energy Citations Database
A searchable database of citations to DOE's energy related information.

DOE Information Bridge
Citations to and full text of research report literature of the Department of Energy, primarily from 1991 to present.

Science.gov - Energy & Energy Conservation
U.S. government science information on energy topics including research and development results.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
David Romito
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Science Libraries Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

More Help

Introduction to Library Research

Writing Center Handouts
Tips to get you started and help along the way in the writing process.

Evaluating Information

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip