This is the "Home" page of the "GEOL 110: Earth and Climate for Science Majors" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GEOL 110: Earth and Climate for Science Majors  

Last Updated: Mar 30, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/geol110 Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

GEOL 110

 

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center, Scientific Visualization Studio

 

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of global warming and climate change
An online encyclopedia covering a vast range of topics affecting global warming and climate change.

AccessScience
An online encyclopedia of science plus news, images, and study guides.

Today's Science
Science in the headlines, suggestions of research topics, and more.

 

News Articles

America's Newspapers
Full-text articles from U.S. newspapers.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to general, regional and international news.

Google Scholar UNC

 

Plagiarism and the Honor System

Plagiarism
A handout from the UNC Writing Center that defines plagiarism and explains how to avoid it.

UNC Honor System

 

UNC Library catalog search

   

 

Internet Resources

U.S. Geological Survey - Science Topics

Geology.com - News page

Coastal Change Hazards - Hurricanes and Extreme Storms (USGS)

The Discovery of Global Warming - American Institute of Physics

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - Climate Change page

The Greenhouse Effect Simply Explained - an animation

Hawaiian Volcano Observatory  - USGS

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
Fourth Assessment Report: Climate Change 2007

IRIS - seismic information and data

NASA's Earthquake Research - Jet Propulsion Lab, Solid Earth Science Working Group

NOAA Tsunami Website - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

NOAA's El Niño Page

NOAA Global Warming - Frequently asked questions

Nova & Frontline on PBS. What's up with the weather? The Debate.
Interviews with leading proponents and skeptics of global warming's threat.

Real Climate - Climate science from climate scientists

U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) - Climate Change page

 

Academic Journal Articles

Articles + 
Provides a unified search of UNC library collections, including article databases, news articles, ebook content, and dissertations. Just enter your search terms and use the options on the left sides of the results screen to refine your search. From there you can quickly get to the full text online.

Academic Search Complete
Abstracts & references for articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade & general publications, & references for The NY Times.

GEOBASE
Worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and related disciplines.

GeoRef
Provides access to worldwide geological literature. Articles from more than 3,000 journals are indexed, as well as books, maps, conference papers, reports, dissertations, and theses.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
David Romito
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Science Libraries Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

More Help

Introduction to Library Research

Writing Center Handouts
Tips to get you started and help along the way in the writing process.

Evaluating Information

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip