This is the "Home" page of the "Course Guide for GIS Classes" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Course Guide for GIS Classes  

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/gis Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Spatial Data by Topic

Wildlife
National Atlas - Biology
National Gap Analysis Program (GAP)
NC OneMap - see the "Biology and Ecology" Topic Category
Bird flyways

Sports
Golf Locales
U.S. Large Area Landmarks - (sports centers, golf courses)
NCAA Division I Academic Progress Rate, 2011 - Team level academic performances can be obtained by division, by conference, and by school (numeric data).

Health
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics (numeric data)
Hospitals

Demographics
Census Data Resources
UNEP Environmental Data Explorer
LandScan Global Population Database

Land Use Change
National Land Cover Database (NLCD) 1992/2001 Retrofit Land Cover Change Product - Codes
Also on AFS at \afs\isis\data\gis\library\library4\ncchange

Transportation
National Transportation Atlas Database
Drive time to work is available from the Census
U.S. and Canada Detailed Streets

Business Location Data
Select areas in NC (~2007)
ReferenceUSA - Provides current business information, including latitude/longitude coordinates (available in detailed download - 500 download limit).
Follow this tutorial to create a shapefile from latitude/longitude coordinates.

Water Resources
Streams, rivers, water basins - see NC OneMap for NC data
U.S. Rivers and Streams

National Atlas (Water)

Alternative Energy
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Data includes: Biomass, Other (Transmission Line Data - high voltage only), Solar (average solar resource potential), and Wind (Annual average wind resource potential, NC is in the Mid-Atlantic States file).

Climate
Climate Data - overview of sources
Climate Change Scenarios from NCAR
National Snow and Ice Data Center

Foreign-Born Population
See Census Data Resources

Fertility Data
UNEP Environmental Data Explorer

Soils
Available for download from the Soil Data Mart
Also on AFS SSURGO (detailed soils)\afs\isis\data\gis\library\library4\ssurgoNC (by county)
STATSGO (generalized soils) \afs\isis\data\gis\library\library4\statsgoNC
The Soil Data Viewer is installed on the Public GIS machines in Davis Library Reference.

Volcanoes
HAZPAC, An Interactive Map of Pacific Rim Natural Hazards, Population, and Infrastructure
Download data here

Web Mapping Services 
Instructions and a few good sources.  Maintained by NCSU Library.  

 

What is in this guide?

This guide provides links and search tools to help you find spatial data for your GIS course.  For additional resources related to GIScience, please see the Geography Research Guide.  

For information about GIS Software, see our GIS & Data Services Software Guide.

 

Search the Library's Collection of Geospatial Data

Search our spatial data collection:

   

 

Favorite Sites for Finding Spatial Data Online

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Amanda Henley
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-3704
Send Email

Need a topic for your GIS project?

Don't know what to do for your GIS project? Investigate these resources to see what professionals are doing and to find ideas for a topic of your own. These are just a few ideas generated from Joseph Kerski's blog post.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip