Siku Quanshu (四庫全書)

The Siku Quanshu (Complete Library of the Four Branches of Literature) was compiled during the years 1773-1782 under an edict from Emperor Qianlong. It includes 3,460 works, with a total of more than 36,000 volumes. It covers a wide range of subjects including the classics, history, literature, philosophy, geography, politics, governmental rules and regulations, economics, society, astronomy, science, technology, medicine, and more. It is the most comprehensive encyclopedia of Chinese scholarship from antiquity to the 18th century. Seven copies of the Siku Quanshu, all written by hand, were originally created. Due to wars and civil upheavals throughout Chinese history, only three complete sets of the original copies exist today. The Wenyuange edition is the first copy, produced in 1782, and is now kept in Taiwan.

The Siku Quanshu (Wenyuange edition) electronic database, developed by Digital Heritage in Hong Kong, is a full-text retrieval system that contains texts of the entire Siku Collection, with approximately 800 million characters.

The database provides special features including searches by title, author, caption title, special indices, subject divisions, name and dynasty of the author, special reference tools, book marking, and note taking.

Note:This resource is available for ON-campus use only. You must download the special client software from the link to use this resource. After the software is installed, log in via IP access.
  • Last Updated: Aug 3, 2016 9:25 PM
  • URL: