Michigan State University Libraries' Comic Art Collection holds over 200,000 items. The focus is on published works and areas of emphasis are U.S. comics, international comics, newspaper strip books, and history and criticism. The webpage inludes an index of the comic collection, the library's collection development policy, and a directory of research libraries with comic collections.
From the website: "The Graphic Novel Archive's mission is to catalog these tomes of sequential art." The database is browsable by a variety of ways including creator credit, publisher, title series, and even universe. The website also offers reviews, previews, and a blog.
This was a major exhibition originally co-organized by two Los Angeles museums: UCLA's Hammer Museum and the Museum of Contemporary Art. The catalog is available at the Art Library and the different museum venues include digital images.
From the website: "The Cartoon Art Museum is committed to fostering and promoting a greater appreciation of cartoon art. This it achieves through collecting, cataloging, preserving and displaying the finest representations of original cartoon art as well as providing innovative educational programs designed to enrich the cultural life of our community." The website contains links to other museums and galleries as well as virtual exhibits.
Located in New York, the museum collects, preserves, studies, educates, and displays comic and cartoon art, and strives to represent every genre of the art, including graphic novels, political illustration, animation, anime, and computer-generated art. The website lists past exhibits as well as current and features some images.