This is the "Home" page of the "Folklore/History 571: Southern Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Folklore/History 571: Southern Music  

Last Updated: May 8, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/hist571southernmusic Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Record Review Assignment

How to Write a Record Review, by J. Eric Smith

Examples of great record reviews and music writing

DIIV: Oshin. Review by Ian Cohen.

Cee-Lo Green...Is the Soul Machine Review by Mark Anthony Neal.

GZA Liquid Swords: Chess Box Deluxe Edition Review by Ian Cohen.

Lacunae: Writer Douglas Wolk's mostly music focused blog. To see reviews he has written, look in the Things I've Published section on the left side of the page.

Sasha Frere-Jones's blog
Frere-Jones writes about music for the New Yorker, covering a lot of indie music. Links to his columns at the New Yorker and other publications are available on the right side of the blog.

Sources for current reviews

Pitchfork
Currently the most well-known online reviewers of indie music.

dusted
Independent music review site with a focus on more obscure or avant work than Pitchfork.

 

Indie Music in NC

Scan
The Indy Week music blog

alt.music.chapel-hill The Google Group for NC music information

 

Films

Folkstreams.net
A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures. A number of Dr. Ferris's films are available here.

FilmFinder from the Media Resource Center in the Undergraduate Library.

 

What is in this guide?

Use this course page to access material for assignments for Southern Music and to discover sites that Dr. Ferris recommends.

Let's begin here, with the History of Rock n Roll in 100 Riffs...

 

Interested in more classes in American Studies or Southern Studies?

American Studies at Carolina

The Department of American Studies offers a major and a minor, both with interdisciplinary approaches that empower students to value the complexity of the US by engaging with a variety of historical, literary, artistic, political, social, and ethnic perspectives.

Folklore Program

The Folklore Program, offers an MA that readies students for either employment in the public sector or further academic study and a minor in Folklore for students earning a BA or PhD in other departments.

Concentration in Southern Studies

As an American Studies major, you can complete a concentration in Southern Studies, with requires completion of nine courses that focus on Southern culture.

 

Center for the Study of the American South

The The Center for the Study of the American South extends the historic role of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as the world’s premier institution for research, teaching, and public dialogue on the history, culture, and contemporary experience of the southern United States. The Center promotes initiatives in the University's tradition of regional service and scholarship.

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is the world’s best-equipped institution to study The American South. Carolina’s scholars and research collections are unparalleled resources for the study of Southern history, folklore, literature, and arts. The University’s social scientists and technical experts offer informed visions for its future. UNC’S institutional resources on the South include the Southern Historical Collection, the Southern Folklife Collection, the Research Laboratories of Archaeology, the Odum Institute for Research in the Social Sciences, southern collections at UNC’s Ackland Museum of Art, and The Center for the Study of the American South (CSAS), which houses the Southern Oral History Program and the award-winning journal Southern Cultures.

 

UNC catalog search

   

Find Academic Journal Articles

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Jacqueline Solis
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
Office 128
(919) 962-1151
Send Email
 

Background Information

Oxford Music Online
Online access to Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.

allmusic

International Dictionary of Black Composers

The Encyclopedia of Country Music: The Ultimate Guide to the Music

Encyclopedia of Southern Culture

American Folklore: An Encyclopedia

 

Music Library

UNC Chapel Hill's Music Library contains the largest research music collection in the South. Visit it on the ground floor of Wilson Library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip