More than a repository of well known classics like 'Yankee Doodle' and 'The Star-Spangled Banner,' this resource includes music that relates to almost every walk of American life, every ethnic group, and every time period. Included are songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. There are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, and anti-war protests, hymns, funny songs, college songs, sea shanties, shape note songs, and about topics as diverse as New York and electricity. It is a source for American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music, encompassing American musical genres including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing--combined with powerful recordings by artists such as Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Peggy Seeger, Si Kahn, Lead Belly, Sleepy LaBeef, the New Lost City Ramblers, Otis Clay, Eddy 'The Chief' Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, Merle Travis, and many others. The music comes from Rounder Records, the Smithsonian Institution, Document Records, and other labels and sources.
Contains several thousand non-commercial recordings of the music of Appalachia providing a resource for study of repertoire, technique, lore, and the musical interchanges among the region's traditional musicians
It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Recorded in conjunction with the Florida Federal Writers' Project, the Florida Music Project, and the Joint Committee on Folk Arts of the Work Projects Administration, this collection features folksongs and folktales in many languages.
The Mississippi Blues Trail markers tell stories through words and images of bluesmen and women and how the places where they lived and the times in which they existed–and continue to exist–influenced their music.
A non-profit organization founded by Alan Lomax as a center for the exploration and preservation of the world's expressive traditions. The web site provides access to primary documents, many of which relate to the American South.