This is the "Home" page of the "IACUC Alternative Research Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IACUC Alternative Research Sources   Tags: animals, clinical_laboratory, iacuc, researcher, researchers  

Databases listed on the IACUC form for alternatives searching
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/iacuc Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Alternatives Searching Instruction

Databases on IACUC Form

  • AGRICOLA
    Describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines. A database of bibliographic records created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.
  • AWIC: Animal Welfare Information Center
    "Providing information for improved animal care and use in research, teaching, and testing."
  • BIOSIS Previews
    Comprehensive biological sciences product that indexes content from life sciences journals and non-journal literature, including conferences, meetings, symposia, review articles, U.S. patents, books, book chapters, and software reviews...1969-present.
  • EMBASE
    Covers journal articles about drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical medicine, health policy and management, public health...from 1947 to the present. Includes PubMed, British & European titles, etc.
  • NTIS
    Very large database of government sponsored research from 1964 to the present.
  • PsycINFO
    American Psychological Association's database of abstracts from psychology and related disciplines. Indexes journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present. Links to full-text for many.
  • PubMed
    Covers journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950 to the present.
  • TOXNET
    Toxicology Data Network is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. Databases include: HSDB; TOXLINE; ChemIDplus; IRIS; CCRIS; GENE-TOX; DART/ETIC; LactMed.
  • VetMed Resource (CAB Abstracts)
    A subset of CAB Abstracts, VetMed contains key records on all aspects of veterinary medicine from 1972 to the present, including a mix of full-text documents; images; films; and bibliographic abstracts, including relevant CAB Reviews, journal articles, pre-set smart searches, current news and events, and the Animal Health and Production Compendium.

Specialized Alternatives Databases

Databases that contain materials specifically relevant to the reduction, refinement, and replacement of animals in laboratory research and teaching will be of particular utility to your literature search. These databases have been created and are maintained by a variety of groups, including the U.S. government, universities in the U.S. and abroad, and private research institutes. You will find that these databases will cover a broader range of publication formats than commercial databases, including videotapes and software packages in addition to peer-reviewed articles.

  • ALTBIB: Bibliography of Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research & Testing
    "The intent of this bibliography is to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing. It is produced from MEDLINE database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program of the Specialized Information Services Division of the National Library of Medicine."
  • ALTBIB Search Help
  • NICEATM and ICCVAM Test Method Evaluations
    Included are fewer than ten alternative test methods that have been submitted to ICCVAM for review and evaluation. They contain "information about the reviews of these tests, the respective categories of toxicity, and/or the ICCVAM Working Group assigned to the assays."
  • NORINA: Norwegian Inventory of Alternatives
    "NORINA (A Norwegian Inventory of Alternatives) provides information on over 3800 audiovisual aids and other alternatives such as computer programs to the use of animals or animal products in teaching, at all levels from junior [elementary] school to university." From the Norwegian Reference Centre for Laboratory Animal Sciences & Alternatives.
  • NORINA Search Help
  • Refinement and Enrichment for All Laboratory Animals Database
    "This information resource is a merger of the two databases on refinement & enrichment for non-primate and primate animals kept in laboratories. It disseminates reference material on all aspects of refinement of housing and handling conditions and environmental enrichment for ALL animals kept in research, testing and teaching institutions."

Free Online Databases

The U.S. government produces a number of federally-funded public access databases. The most well-known of these, in the medical community, is PubMed MEDLINE. While PubMed MEDLINE may be your first choice for medical research, the other options listed here may also be very useful. They include databases for general agricultural research, toxicity and cell-line data, and reports & proposals from research projects receiving federal funding. Also included in this list are mutagenicity and toxicity databases developed and maintained by a few non-governmental organizations.

  • AGRICOLA
    Describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences. Make sure you are searching the "Journals" section (journal articles) rather than the "Books" (books at the National Agriculture Library). The most efficient search option is "Keyword Search."
  • AGRICOLA Search Help
  • AGRICOLA Thesaurus for Animal Use Alternatives
  • CRIS: Current Research Information Service
    "CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Projects are conducted or sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, the state land-grant university system, other cooperating state institutions, and participants in a number of USDA-administered grant programs."
  • CRIS Search Help
  • RePORTER (NIH)
    "The information found in RePORTER is drawn from several extant databases–eRA databases, Medline, PubMed Central, the NIH Intramural Database, and iEdison–using newly-formed linkages among these disparate data sources. In general, the RePORTER database of research projects is updated weekly."
  • RePORTER (NIH) Search Help
  • ECOTOX: Ecotoxicology Database
    "The ECOTOXicology database (ECOTOX) is a source for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife. ECOTOX was created and is maintained by the U.S.EPA, Office of Research and Development (ORD) , and the National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory's (NHEERL's) Mid-Continent Ecology Division (MED)."
  • PubMed
    Covers journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950 to the present.
  • PubMed Search Tutorial
  • PubMed: Suggested MeSH terms & Queries for Animal Testing Alternatives Information
  • TOXNET
    "TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM)."
  • TOXNET Search Help
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip