Use these search engines to find free-to-you news stories which illustrate the concepts covered in each chapter of the textbook.
- America's News
Over 1,200 U.S. newspapers including many regional newspapers. Includes some local television news. 1990s to present.
- LexisNexis News
Articles from U.S. and international newspapers wire services. Includes national television and radio transcripts.
- Associated Press Images
Features notable figures and images from significant events of the 20th and, occasionally, the 19th centuries (an 1844 photograph of Abraham Lincoln; 1880 photographs of the Brooklyn Bridge). mid-19th century-present. great visuals! Note: Images are covered by U.S. copyright law and can only be used for class projects.
Full-text and images of Vogue magazine, including articles and advertisements. 1892-present.
- NBC News Archives
Over 13,000 NBC News video clips in all areas & time periods. Includes newsreels from the 1940s, coverage of the Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, coverage of the first day of school in Little Rock in 1957, an interview with Eleanor Roosevelt from 1959.
- National Geographic
Every article, photograph and map from every issue is available and searchable. 1888-1994.
Searches Twitter, links, photos, videos, and more. More precise than Google; search for one or more terms or hashtags. Create email alerts to easily track comments about your campaign.
Stores the last 3,000 tweets from any Twitter account. Handy for assessing comments about a brand or campaign from a known account.