Chat a Librarian
UNC catalog search
For More Help
Stone Center Library for Black Culture & History
General Information
The Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History Library's collection gathers works on the African American experience and the African Diaspora, with a focus on the social sciences and humanities. The library has a small collection of print periodicals, and provides access to a wide array of electronic journals and databases.
The library features reading and browsing areas, two spacious group study rooms, and ten study carrels, all of which are equipped with Internet port connections. In addition, the library has wireless capabilities. A printer is available for use with a UNC One Card. The library's screen name for online reference assistance is: StonecenterRef.
The library features reading and browsing areas, two spacious group study rooms, and ten study carrels, all of which are equipped with Internet port connections. In addition, the library has wireless capabilities. A printer is available for use with a UNC One Card. The library's screen name for online reference assistance is: StonecenterRef.
What is in this guide?
This page provides links to background historical resources for the study of JOMC 742: Readings in Mass Communication at UNC's School of Journalism and Mass Communication.
Check out ...
- Primary Sources: Articles, Images, & TV
- Secondary Sources: Books & Articles
Relevant Databases
- Black Studies Center: Newspaper Browse … Newspaper Search
Full-text of three African American newspapers: theChicago Defender (1910-1975); the Daily Defender (1956-1975); and the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1994). Also includes The Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) and Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Includes text and images of papers.
- Historic NewspapersFull-text and images of seven historic newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution (1868 to 1945), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1987), The Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986), The Los Angeles Times (1881-1989), The New York Times (1851 to 2 or 3 years ago), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and The Washington Post (1877 to 1996). great visuals!
Front Page

image from the Chicago Defender @ ProQuest.
Your Librarian |
Contact Info Park Library at UNC's School of Journalism & Mass Communication, Carroll Hall (919) 843-8300 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
About the Park Library
The Park Library is supported by the School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Read more about our mission or about Roy H. Park.
We welcome the use of our collections and services by all students and researchers.






Loading...
