African American Newspapers: Online
image from the Chicago Defender @ ProQuest.
- Black Studies Center - Newspaper CoverageFull-text of three African American newspapers, which you can search by keyword: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975); the Daily Defender (1956-1975); and the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1994). Also includes The Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) and Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Includes text and images of papers.
- Ethnic NewsWatchIncludes several late 20th century African American newspapers, such as the Tri-State Defender (1959-1989), the New Pittsburgh Courier (1959-present), and the Washington Informer (1979-present). Text only; no images.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998Browse the title list or use the search box.
- North Carolina NewspapersStudent and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina. From DigitalNC.
TV & Image Archives (not African American)
- NBC News Archives Over 13,000 NBC News video clips in all areas & time periods. Includes newsreels from the 1940s, coverage of the Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, coverage of the first day of school in Little Rock in 1957, an interview with Eleanor Roosevelt from 1959.
- Associated Press ImagesFeatures notable figures and images from significant events of the 20th and, occasionally, the 19th centuries (an 1844 photograph of Abraham Lincoln; 1880 photographs of the Brooklyn Bridge). mid-19th century-present. great visuals! Note: Images are covered by U.S. copyright law and can only be used for class projects.
African American Newspapers: Microfilm

Browse these lists of
- African American newspapers in North Carolina. Many are available on microfilm at Wilson Library's North Carolina Collection.
- African American newspapers around the country available on microfilm at Davis Library.
Using Microfilm
@ Wilson Library (North Carolina newspapers)
Microfilm reader/copiers are available in the second floor reading room. One microfilm reader is available in the fourth floor reading room. Read more about using Wilson Library.
@ Davis Library (national newspapers)
The Davis Library microforms collection is on the Lower Level of Davis Library. They have helpful staff to get microfilm reels for you & show you how to use them. Check their hours before going over to Davis.
NCAAP Papers
- NAACP PapersNearly two million pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the U.S. 1909 to 1972.

Loading...
