This is the "Background Info" page of the "JOMC 428: History of Broadcasting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

JOMC 428: History of Broadcasting  

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/jomc428 Print Guide Email Alerts

Background Info Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Articles

  • Academic Search Complete
    Scholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. 1980s-present.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
    Articles in communication, mass media, and advertising. Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s.
  • America's News
    Over 1,200 U.S. newspapers including many regional newspapers. Includes some local television news. 1990s to present.
 

Find Full-text of Newspapers

Search for a newspaper here - get free full-text through UNC libraries!

  • Select in Journal Title from pull-down
  • Type newpaper name
  • Click Search

   

 

Find Sound Recordings and Images

Cover Art
We Interrupt This Broadcast - Joe Garner, Bill Kurtis (Narrated by)
Garner, Joe. We Interrupt This Broadcast : the Events That Stopped Our Lives-- from the Hindenburg Explosion to the Virginia Tech Shooting. 10th anniversary ed. Naperville, Ill.: Sourcebooks MediaFusion, 2008. Print.

Audio clips and great visuals of events that happened in the US in the 20th century.

Graphic Information

These two sources are great for just about every topic! 

  • Historic Newspapers
    Full-text and images of several newspapers:
    • The Atlanta Constitution (1868 to 1945)
    • The Baltimore Sun (1837-1987)
    • The Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986)
    • The Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
    • The Louisville Courier-Journal (1830 – 1922)
    • The Nashville Tennessean (1812 – 1922)
    • The New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)
    • The Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)
    • The Washington Post (1877 to 1996).
    great visuals!
  • Associated Press Images
    Features notable figures and images from significant events of the 20th and, occasionally, the 19th centuries (an 1844 photograph of Abraham Lincoln; 1880 photographs of the Brooklyn Bridge). mid-19th century-present. great visuals! Note: Images are covered by U.S. copyright law and can only be used for class projects.
 

Find Books Online

Cover Art
Dictionary of American History
Kutler, Stanley I. Dictionary of American History. 3rd ed. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2003. Online.

Brief essays on thousands of events in American history. Online. Also: 10 volume print version at Davis Library Reference, Call Number E174 .D52 2003

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime
Hickey, Eric W. Encyclopedia of Murder & Violent Crime. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2003. Online.

Brief essays on violent events in American and world history. Includes list of references for more information.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Modern World
ISBN: 9780195176322
Stearns, Peter N. The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World. Oxford ;New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. Online.

Brief essays on various aspects of the "modern" world including historical events and social phenomena.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip