It indexes over 400 journals and includes the full text of over 200 journals in these fields. CMMC combines two earlier indexing tools--CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State). CMMC also offers journals not covered by these two indexes.
It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database. The following national newspapers are included in this resource:
San Francisco Chronicle
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Find Full-text of Newspapers
Search for a newspaper here - get free full-text through UNC libraries!
Garner, Joe. We Interrupt This Broadcast : the Events That Stopped Our Lives-- from the Hindenburg Explosion to the Virginia Tech Shooting. 10th anniversary ed. Naperville, Ill.: Sourcebooks MediaFusion, 2008. Print.
Audio clips and great visuals of events that happened in the US in the 20th century.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)/Daily Defender (1956-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1989)
Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1989)
Louisville Courier-Journal (1830-1922)
Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851 to 2 or 3 years ago)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Washington Post (1877 to 1995)
Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1995).
Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements. Historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included. Display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.