On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
- Historical Newspapers (U.S.) @ UNC Library: search for your or your parents' birthday, or any date in history
Full-text and images of several historic newspapers:
- Misc. North Carolina Newspapers
Digitized by our colleagues at the North Carolina Heritage Center. Includes The Mebane Leader (1911-1914), the North Carolina Central University student newspaper, and more.
- Making of America: Cornell ... Michigan
They say it's a "digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology."
- The New Yorker
Includes full images of all issues, including articles, cartoons, and advertisements. 1925-present.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
Citations to articles written from 1890-1982, in popular magazines such as Ebony, Harper's Weekly, House & Garden, Life, Newsweek, The Saturday Evening Post, and more. This is an online version of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
- Vogue
Full-text and images of Vogue magazine, including articles and advertisements. 1892-present.
- Associated Press Images
Features notable figures and images from significant events of the 20th and, occasionally, the 19th centuries (an 1844 photograph of Abraham Lincoln; 1880 photographs of the Brooklyn Bridge). mid-19th century-present. great visuals! Note: Images are covered by U.S. copyright law and can only be used for class projects.
- NBC News Archives
Over 13,000 NBC News video clips in all areas & time periods. Includes newsreels from the 1940s, coverage of the Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, coverage of the first day of school in Little Rock in 1957, an interview with Eleanor Roosevelt from 1959.
- Ad*Access
Duke University’s extensive collection of over 7,000 magazine advertisements. 1911-1955.
- Adclassix.com
Vintage ads covering cars to military propaganda to wrist-watches. 1900s-1970s.
- ARTstor
Miscellaneous ads ranging from soap to liquor to the New York subway. Search for "advertising and YOURTOPIC" or browse thousands of advertisements by searching for "advertising" alone. Check out this collection of 50 ads collected randomly. Tech Note: enable pop-ups in your browser. Contact Stephanie for assistance.
- Emergence of Advertising in America
Duke University’s collection of the early days of American advertisements. 1850-1920.
- Gallery of Graphic Design
Advertisements from a variety of magazines. View all advertisements at once or choose by year, product, magazine, advertiser, illustrator, or keyword. 1930-1969.
- Retro Lounge
Links to print advertisement collections around the world. Browse by topic. 1800’s to present; most from the the 1950s, 60s, and 70s.
- Vintage Ad Browser
Ads from a variety of sources. Browse by topic (alcohol or race) or search. Sources include book and magazine scans, CD-Roms, web sites, reader submissions, and more.