This is the "@ Wilson Library" page of the "JOMC 742: Readings in Mass Communication History " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
University Libraries banner

JOMC 742: Readings in Mass Communication History  

Last Updated: Mar 18, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/jomc742 Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis

@ Wilson Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Matt's Tips from Class

  • Search the Southern Historical Collection manuscripts.
  • Use the Advanced Search in the UNC Catalog, and limit results to the Southern Historical Collection.Digitized Content
  • Look for Digitized Content in Finding Aids
  • Click on "Request this Collection" at the top left of a Finding Aid to have it paged & ready for your when you get to Wilson
  • Do the one-time registration when you get to Wilson Library (available here as pdf)
 

Manuscripts @ Wilson Library

Great resources at Wilson Library!Wilson Library has some wonderful primary material for your use, especially in the Southern Historical Collection (SHC). Here's what they have:

"... more than 16 million discrete original documents ... including, letters, diaries, maps, ledgers, oral histories, photographs, literary manuscripts, drawings, sound and moving image recordings, pamphlets, and printed ephemera." (according to http://www.lib.unc.edu/mss/shc/instruction.html).

Further, the collection "...provides strong documentation of all periods of southern history and culture since the late eighteenth century. Topical strengths range widely, but especially prominent are plantation culture, the American Civil War, politics and political activism, race relations, religious experience, education, rural life, public health, southern writers, African American life, journalism, business, and family relations."

There are several options for discovering what is available at the SHC:

*What is a finding aid?

"...[a] description of a collection of archival material." At UNC, "[t]he finding aids ... describe collections held by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's Louis Round Wilson Special Collections Library. Unless otherwise noted, the online finding aid is the most detailed description of a collection."

More: http://www.lib.unc.edu/mss/inv.html

Image from IconArchive.

 

For More Help

Matt Turi

Manuscripts Reference Librarian

Wilson Library

919-962-1345

turi@email.unc.edu

 

@ Wilson Library

2d Floor Reading Room @ Wilson LibraryEveryone is welcome to use Wilson Library! Here's what to do if you want to use their resources:

  • Go to Wilson Library's 2nd floor Reading Room.
  • Fill out a registration form (available here as pdf) and present valid photo identification (ie, One Card). 
  • Laptops, silenced cell phones, and digital cameras may be brought into the Reading Room; all other personal items, including cases for the above, must be secured in a locker at the Reading Room entrance.
  • Beverages and food are not permitted in the Reading Room.
  • More information about using Wilson.

Here is additional information for researchers at Wilson Library.

Image from Wilson Library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip