HSL home
Welcome to new and returning faculty, staff, and students! Check out the improvements we have made over the summer!

Current Awareness Tools

Mobile and library tools for keeping current with new research

Alerts from Saved Database Searches

  1. Go to a database and create (or sign in to) your individual account.
  2. Search for your topic and save the search.
  3. Set up an email notification or an RSS feed to receive the new content from the saved search.

Below are links to the help documents from commonly used databases for saving searches and setting up alerts.

Citation Alerts

Use citation alerts to track when a newly published article cites:

Key research articles in your field

Key authors in your field

Your own articles

The primary databases that track citations to articles are:

New articles suggested by your reference manager

F1000Workspace and Mendeley are reference management tools that suggest new content based on the articles you have stored in your database.

In the Feed section of your online Mendeley account you will see article suggestions related to articles you have recently added to your database. The Suggestion section has articles related to the content of your entire database. Neither of these offerings are entirely based on newly published literature.

F1000Workspace provides suggested newly published articles from PubMed for both your entire database and for each project.

Learn more about F1000W or Mendeley by taking a class at HSL or use Ask a Librarian email or chat to request an individual or group consultation.

Below are links to the HSL guides for these tools.

Support Research, Teaching, & Learning - Give to the HSL