There is a known problem with the Find@UNC button on Google Scholar until Thursday, November 27th. See workaround
Kate McGraw, MA, MLS: School of Dentistry Librarian:
Meet Your Librarian
Subject Specialty: Dentistry
Research: Systematic Review Searches; Publication Analysis & Bibliometrics; Health Statistics; Finding Tests and Measures.
Reference Management Tools: RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley
Kate is Assistant Department Head for User Services and the HSL Liaison to the School of Dentistry.
Kate's interest in the intersection between information skills and quality dental care started when she worked as a dental laboratory technician in a private dental practice while earning her Masters in Library Science.
Kate's current research interests include systematic review searching and reporting, the usability of online resources, and how information resources are used by researchers and clinicians.
MA, Ecumenical Institute of Theology, St. Mary's Seminary
MLS, College of Information Studies, University of Maryland
Guides Authored by Kate McGraw
This guide organizes selected databases, journals, electronic books and web sites useful for dental staff, students and faculty.
- Evidence Based Dentistry
Defines the 5 steps of evidence based practice, basic study designs and how to search for high quality evidence for clinical practice.
- PubMed for Dental Research
This tutorial uses dental topics to demonstrate basic PubMed search techniques. Includes information for UNC Chapel Hill affiliates on how to find the full-text of articles.
Publications and Conference Presentations
Martinelli SM, McGraw KA, Kalbaugh CA, Vance S, Viera AJ, Zvara DA, Mayer DC. A Novel Core Competencies-Based Academic Medicine Curriculum: Description and Primary Results. Journal of Education in Perioperative Medicine. Vol XVI, Issue X, 2014.
Busch EL, McGraw KA, Sandler RS. The potential for markers of epithelial-mesenchymal transition to Improve Colorectal Cancer Outcomes: A Systematic Review. Cancer Epidemiol Biomarkers Prev. 2014 Jul;23(7):1164-1175. Epub 2014 May 3. Review. PubMed PMID: 24793954. PubMed Abstract / UNC-CH Full Text.
Lackey M, Swogger S, McGraw KA. Building capacity in a health sciences library to support global health projects. J Med Libr Assoc. 2014 Apr;102(2):92-5. doi: 10.3163/1536-5050.102.2.006. PubMed PMID: 24860264; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC3988780. Free Full Text
Bhaskar V, McGraw KA, Divaris K. The importance of preventive dental visits from a young age: systematic review and current perspectives. Clin Cosmet Investig Dent. 2014 Mar 20;8:21-7. doi: 10.2147/CCIDE.S41499. eCollection 2014. Review. PubMed PMID: 24672258; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC3964025. Free Full Text
Holliday KM, Avery CL, Poole C, McGraw K, Williams R, Liao D, Smith RL, Whitsel EA. Estimating personal exposures from ambient air pollution measures:using meta-analysis to assess measurement error. Epidemiology. 2014 Jan;25(1):35-43. doi: 10.1097/EDE.0000000000000006. PubMed PMID: 24220191; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC3973436. PubMed Abstract / UNC-CH Full Text
Clark TT, McGovern P, Mgkeokwere D, Wooten N, Owusu H, and McGraw KA. Systematic review: The nature and extent of social work research on substance use disorders treatment interventions among African Americans. Journal of Social Work, 2013. doi:10.1177/1468017313479858.Abstract and UNC-CH Full-text Access
Martinelli SM, Mayer DC, Viera A, McGraw K, and Zvara D. Novel Curriculum for Anesthesiology PGY-1s: Academic Medicine Rotation. SEA Spring Annual Meeting, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, June 1-3, 2012 Poster PDF
Holliday KM, Li J, Avery CL, Poole C, Williams R, McGraw K, Whitsel E. Sources of heterogeneity in the correlation between ambient, outdoor and personal concentrations of PM10: implications for bias in epidemiologic studies. Abstracts of the 23rd Annual Conference of the International Society of Environmental Epidemiology (ISEE). September 13 - 16, 2011, Barcelona, Spain. Environ Health Perspect. Meeting Abstract
Crescenzi A, McGraw KA, and Main LR. LibAnswers Usabiity: Rethinking Online Reference. Poster presented at the Medical Library Association Annual Meeting, Minneapolis, MN, May 17, 2011. Poster PDF
Avery CL, Mills KT, Williams R, McGraw KA, Poole C, Smith RL, Whitsel EA. Estimating error in using ambient PM2.5 concentrations as proxies for personal exposures: a review. Epidemiology. 2010 Mar;21(2):215-23. Review. PubMed Abstract / UNC-CH Full-text Access
Avery CL, Mills KT, Williams R, McGraw KA, Poole C, Smith RL, Whitsel EA. Estimating error in using residential outdoor PM2.5 concentrations as proxies for personal exposures: a meta-analysis. Environ Health Perspect. 2010 May;118(5):673-8. Epub 2010 Jan 14. Free PubMed Central Full-text
Yoshii A, Plaut DA, McGraw KA, Anderson MJ, Wellik KE. Analysis of the reporting of search strategies in Cochrane systematic reviews. J Med Libr Assoc. 2009 Jan;97(1):21-9. Free Full Text
Bayne S, Anderson P, McGraw K. Defining Scholarly Productivity Levels for US Dental Schools Using Articles/Faculty/Year. J Dent Res 2006; 85(Spec Iss B):1223. Meeting Abstract
Leehacharoenkul RR, Bayne SC, Bader JD, McGraw K. Continental Bias of North American and European Dental Research Journals. J Dent Res 2006;85(Spec Iss A):0420.