Citing
Create citations in the right format using this web form.
Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.
Finding books
Start with Keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).
Identify one or more relevant books. Click on LCSH given to those titles to find more titles.
Use Advanced Search for more precise results
Examples:
LC Subject Heading
- Korea (South) -- Social conditions
- Korea (South) -- Politics and government
- Korea -- History -- 20th century
- Education -- Korea (South)
- korea (south) -- economic conditions
Going to the in the UNC catalog advance search feature will let you search for items that UNC has in Korean. You can also specific what format (book, film, etc.) that you want to find
Related Links in Korea
- Korean Ministry of Education, Science and Technology (교육과학기술부)
- Korean Educational Development Institute (한국교육개발원)
- Korean Institute for Curriculum and Evaluation (교육과정평가원)
- Korean Social Science Data Archive (한국사회과학자료원)
- Korean Sociological Association (한국사회학회)
- Korean Social Science Data center (한국사회과학데이터센터)
What is in this guide?
This KOR 151 course page will help you locate books, articles, and information on topics covered in class and for required research papers.
UNC catalog search
Relevant Databases
- Research Toolsfind out appropriate databases by title or by subject. Do a quick article/ebook search without selecting specific database
- DBpiaDBpia is a full text database which covers more than 862,000 articles from 1,124 Korean scholarly journals in 12 subject fields, such as sociology, literature, economics & business, medical science, humanities, theology, law and administration, arts, engineering, natural science, and education. English materials are also availble.
- KRpiaKRpia contains Korean historical materials and records in the fields of history, literature, folk culture, nature, Chinese medicine, religion, and materials related to Asian studies.
- Academic Search PremierThis multidiscplinary database covers 4000+ popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles in academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural
- JSTORJSTOR provides a retrospective archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesAn important resource for Asian Studies. Try searching for "education" and "Korea," or "women" and "social conditions" and "Korea."
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada.
- MLA International Bibliography Plus Full TextA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies.
Reference Resources
These resources provide references to important reference books, journals, bibliographical tools, databases, and similar sources.
- The Harvard Korean studies bibliography [electronic resource]: Davis reference 10-245
- The Koreas : a global studies handbook DS902 .C65 2002
- An illustrated guide to Korean culture : 233 traditional key words DS904 .I4728 2002
- Korea: A Historical and Cultural Dictionary Davis Reference DS902 .P737 1999
Compiled by specialists from the University of Durham Department of East Asian Studies, this new reference work contains approximately 1500 entries covering Korean civilisation from early times to the present day. Subjects include history, politics, art, archaeology, literature, etc. - Historical dictionary of the Republic of Korea Davis Reference DS904.8 .N34 2004
This dictionary written in English describe the people, political and social events, foreign affairs, and economic and cultural developments that have shaped South Korea since its creation in 1948. The introductory historical narrative and chronology cover the whole history of Korea for the benefit of non-specialists. Includes a large, classified bibliography. - Historical dictionary of North Korea Davis Reference DS933.7 .K55 2003
This book Provids a guide to the history, politics, ideology, and major figures in North Korea, this reference contains a dictionary, a map, a chronology (covering the period 1918-2001), and significant historical documents. - Bibliography on East Asian religion and philosophy BL51 .B687 2001
- Great thinkers of the Eastern world : the major thinkers and the philosophical and religious classics of China, India, Japan, Korea, and the world of Islam B5005 .G74 1995
Research Organization
- The Council on Foreign Relations North Korea
- The Council on Foreign Relations South Korea
- U.S.-Korea Institute at SAIS
- Stanford University, Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center, Korean Studies Program
- CSIS (Center for Strategic and International Studies) Websites
- NBR (National Bureau of Asian Research)
- Strategic Asia
- Peterson Institute for International Economic Policy
- Peterson Institute for International Economic Policy (Essentials Reading for the Koreas)
- NKIDP the Woodrow Wilson Center


Loading...
