Resources for Korean Studies: Books and Articles

Relevant English Databases

Relevant Korean Databases

Open Access Databases and Portals

UNC Catalog Search

   

Searchable using Korean as well as a romanized script for Korean resources. All the computers in Davis Library are able to input Korean scripts.

  • If your item is not available at UNC, try TRLN (Triangle Research Libraries Network).
    Search TRLN provides a single search interface to the TRLN Libraries' Collections.
  • If it is not within the libraries of TRLN, try Worldcat.
    Worldcat is a world-wide catalog of books, articles, visual materials, etc.

Korean Romanization: McCune-Reishauer system

Korean resources at Davis Library are searchable in Korean as well as in romanization with McCune-Reischauer system based on pronunciation. The system is different from the official romanization system in Korea. Find out more:

ALA-LC Romanization Table for Korean

Korean McCune-Reischauer Romanization Dictionary

  • Romanize the Korean title/author/keyword using the M-R Romanization system.
  • Space after each word, a particle, lexical unit, etc.
  • Omit diacritics such as breve (˘), alif (’) and ayn

Article Searching Tips

When searching in databases, try these handy tips for better results:

  • use wildcard characters.  If searching for economic conditions, type the word econ* with an astericks. That will return economies, economic, economist and any other word that starts with e c o n.
  • use quotes.  When searching for two works, quotes will search for the words when they're next to each other.  Thomas Jefferson will return articles with Thomas Payne and Jefferson Starship.  But when "Thomas Jefferson" is searched, only those articles with his name will be returned.

Finding books

Start with Keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).
Identify one or more relevant books. Click on LCSH given to those titles to find more titles.
Use Advanced Search for more precise results

Examples:

LC Subject Heading

Going to the advanced search features in the UNC catalog will let you search for items that UNC has in Korean. You can also specific what format (book, film, etc.) that you want to find