Resources for Korean Studies: Collection Overview

Collection Overview

The East Asian Collection at Davis Library was established in 1964 when UNC began teaching courses on East Asia. The University of North Carolina and nearby Duke University have been sharing area studies library resources since the 1930s, and have agreed early on to share the responsibility of East Asian collection development. UNC concentrates on developing Chinese resources for both schools, while Duke focuses on Japanese material. The scope of this ongoing partnership includes not only library resources, but extends to various library services as well.  At present, UNC library boasts one of the largest Chinese collections in the South, with a total holding of more than 200,000 volumes in print. The library is also actively expanding our collection to acquire digital resources and image materials, such as eBooks, databases, films, microforms and maps from East Asia in order to support the growing academic programs in Asian studies. The UNC-Duke library partnership enables UNC to rely on Duke's Japanese collection to meet research needs, and focus on maintaining a teaching collection for Japan. The Korean collection began in the late 2000s to support a new Korean minor program at UNC. 

The Korean collection, young but actively expanding covers resources for Korean language and literature, history, diaspora, films. The collection includes two major Korean academic databases, DBpia and KBpia.  We receive  an average of more than 500 new titles per year both through active acquisition efforts and the generous gifts of organizations such as the Korean Foundation, the Korean National Library, and the Korean National Assembly Library.

Though our collection is small, it contains valuable research titles such as a complete set of Yonhaengnok choujip 燕行錄全集.This set of extensive records documenting travels by Korean envoys between Korea and China in the 18th century contain many interesting materials that cannot be found in Chinese historiography of the same period.