The Labor Movement in the U.S. South: Strikes and Uprisings
Published Resources
Dixie Be Damned by ISBN: 9781849352079Publication Date: 2015-05-19Far from the picturesque antebellum plantations and meekly repressed slaves of popular mythology, the American South has always had its share of social rebellion. Here, seven accounts of insurrectionary episodes in Southern history are tied together into a larger narrative about the long arc of revolt in the South.
Archival Resources
J.P. Stevens protest and boycott materials by Call Number: Cp331.8 A482jPublication Date: 1976-1979Collection of brochures regarding the protest and boycott against J.P. Stevens calling for better treatment of its employees.- Sixty Years of Struggle: A Documented History of Housekeepers at U.N.C. by Call Number: Cp378 UE119Publication Date: 1996
The North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives (NCCPA) includes many photographs on strikes and uprisings in North Carolina. Researchers are encouraged to search on the NCCPA's digital collections to locate images related to specific topics or incidents. Here is an example, results from a search of the keyword "strike."
John L. Anderson Case Transcripts, 1934
The collection contains four volumes of testimony in the case of the State vs. John L. Anderson, J. P. Hoggard, Tom Canipe, J. F. Haraway, Florence Blaylock, Howard Overman, Avery Kimery, and Jerry Furlough, concerning the dynamiting of the E. M. Holt Plaid Mill at Burlington, N.C., in September 1934, during the general textile strike called by the United Textile Workers of America.
Harriet & Henderson Cotton Mills Records
Harriet & Henderson Cotton Mills, founded by brothers John Cooper and David Cooper, in Henderson, N.C., was a single company composed of two separate mill complexes. Henderson Cotton Mills, established 1895, produced textiles. Harriet Cotton Mills, established 1901, produced coarse yarns. The consolidated mills operated since 1995 as Harriet & Henderson Yarns. Workers in the mills organized under the Textile Workers Union of America (TWUA) in 1943, starting with Harriet (Local 578) and followed several months later by Henderson (Local 584). Unionized workers began a strike against the consolidated mills in 1958. In 1961, the strike ended and both TWUA locals were dissolved. In 2003, Harriet & Henderson Yarns filed for bankruptcy and closed its doors amidst several other textile factory closings across the state.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Photograph
Photograph of Minnie Lunsford holding sign that says, "Duke Power Co. Owns the Brookside Mine. But they don't own us." Photographic print (photo by Earl Dotter) from the Si Kahn Collection, Southern Folklife Papers, UNC Chapel Hill.
