Housed in Wilson Library, a significant collection of books, photographs, and manuscripts relating to the archeology of the Americas, with particular strength in Mesoamerica and the Maya region. Below are a few examples of potentially relevant items in this collection.
Art Source includes full-text coverage of over 750 journals and more than 220 full-text books, with strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
It provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Selective coverage is included for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals and major serial publications on the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. This database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries. (Source: Vendor's website).
A freely available thematic research collection of art, music and literary periodicals published between 1848, the year of the European Revolutions, and 1923 – a functional boundary for works presumed to be in the public domain.
Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to present for biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore; and material culture with content from over 5,870 sources.
Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines. For the period 1514-1960, Ignacio Bernal’s volume, "Bibliografía de Arqueología e Etnografía: Mesoamérica y Norte de México, 1514-1960" lists nearly 15,000 entries. Projections estimate that at least another 20,000 items have been published between 1960 and 1999. As there has not been a corresponding increase in the quality of bibliographic control over this literature, scholars and students have been left with the time-consuming task of searching a series of selective databases and printed bibliographies to maintain a current awareness of pertinent publishing. To provide a relatively complete and retrospective coverage, the Bibliografía Mesoamericana expands on Bernal’s coverage of 1514-1960 using the published author and subject catalogues of the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, Harvard University, as well as the library catalogue at the University of Pennsylvania. The Bibliografía Mesoamericana also provides more recent bibliographic coverage using various electronic databases. The coverage includes books, edited volumes, festschrifts, journal articles, essays in collected works, dissertations and theses, obituaries (2 pages +), CD-ROMs, audio and video tapes, and films pertaining to Mesoamerica. It will not include book reviews, sheet maps, working papers and other gray literature, juvenile literature, newspapers, unpublished manuscripts, and other unpublished materials. The geographical coverage includes conventional regional coverage of Mesoamerica as defined by Paul Kirchoff (México, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, and El Salvador), including Valley of México; Puebla; Oaxaca; Northern and Central Veracruz; Southern Veracruz and Tabasco; West México; North Central México; Morelos; Huasteca; Central Chiapas; Soconusco; Guatemalan Pacific Coast; Guatemalan Highlands; Southern Maya Lowlands; Northern Maya Lowlands; El Salvador; Honduras west of the Río Ulúa.
This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Free-text searching and complete indexing makes Ethnic NewsWatch easy to search. Publishers retain original copyright. For reprint information beyond fair use, contact individual publisher(s). Click on the publication logo to learn more about a publication.
HAPI Online is the searchable Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. (Source: vendor website.)
Search across several authoritative art encyclopedias and dictionaries, including the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
An excellent resource which includes African-American artists as well as Latino, Asian Pacific and Native American. Biographical essay and exhibition, collection lists and bibliography for about 25 artists.
The complete articles are available in ASCII format. Key newspaper titles include El Universal, Mexico City's largest-selling newspaper; O Globo (Brazil); La Nacion (Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile). Three business titles, El Economista (Mexico), Valor Economico (Brazil), and Portafolio (Colombia) are also important resources for researchers.
See ARTstor’s complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library’s ARTstor guide.
Classic Mexican Cinema Online is a collection of film catalogs, arts magazines, and other rare ephemera related to Mexican cinema from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960).
The sources in this collection, heretofore only accessible in the archives of the Filmoteca de la UNAM in Mexico City, are an invaluable resource for research in film and media studies, Latin American studies, and for studying the historical, social, and political impact of cinema.