Introduction to UNC Libraries: Libraries

Libraries & services

UNC maintains a number of libraries and collections. You may need to visit one or more of these libraries depending on the type of information you are looking for or the research you are conducting. All of UNC-Chapel Hill's libraries are open to all students; however, hours and services vary. To plan ahead, check the hours and location of the library you will be visiting.

Libraries

 

Davis Library

Because of its size and the breadth of its collections, Davis Library is considered the main UNC-Chapel Hill library. Davis Library houses:

• The main book and journal collections for the humanities and the social sciences 
• Group study rooms
• Government information services
• Microforms
• The Maps Collection
• Library Data Services for statistics, GIS mapping, and more
• Interlibrary Loan
• The print and electronic reserve collections

 

 

The Undergraduate Library

The Undergraduate Library serves the special research needs of undergraduates and provides the campus with several key collections and services. These services include:

• Circulation and research assistance 
• The Media & Design Center, where you can work on digital and multimedia projects.
• Group study rooms
• Popular Reading Collection 

 

 

 

 

 

The Health Science Library 

The Health Sciences Library (HSL) is the primary library for the Schools of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health, and UNC Hospitals, and also serves all of UNC and the general public. At the HSL you can find: 

• Health Science journals and books 
• 20 small group study rooms
• 2 teaching labs
• a collaboration center
• two well-equipped public conference rooms
• coffee shop.

 

 

 

Wilson Library

Wilson Library serves as the main special collections library for the University. At this library, you can find: 

• North Carolina Collection
• The Rare Book Collection
• The Southern Folklife Collection
• The Southern Historical Collection
• The University Archives & Records Management Services

 

 

 

 

Law Library

 

The Kathrine R. Everett Law Library is located in the Law School. It houses law and law-related resources that are available to all students, faculty and members of the community. 

 

 

 

 

Branch Libraries

There are also several departmental or branch libraries:

• Information and Library Science 
• Kenan Science Library 
• Music Library (located inside Wilson Library) 
• Park Library at the Hussman School of Journalism and Media 
• Sloane Art Library 
• Stone Center Library for Black Culture and History 

 

Area Academic Libraries

The UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries are members of a local consortium known as the Triangle Research Library Network (TRLN) which includes the libraries of UNC-Chapel Hill, Duke University, North Carolina Central University, and North Carolina State University. All currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff can use their UNC One Cards to check out materials from these libraries. 

The collections of each of these libraries can be searched through the TRLN catalog. It is easy to visit Duke University's Perkins Library in person, thanks to the Robertson Scholars Express Bus service, which runs from the UNC campus to the Duke campus.