MASC 101

Photo courtesy of flickr user only_point_five
Reference Sources
AccessScience
An online encyclopedia of science plus news, images, and study guides.
Today's Science
Science in the headlines, suggestions of research topics, and more.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
An online encyclopedia containing over 3,000 peer-reviewed articles by leading scientists.
Google Scholar UNC

Citing
Create citations in the right format using this web form.
Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.
Plagiarism and the Honor System
Plagiarism
A handout from the UNC Writing Center that defines plagiarism and explains how to avoid it.
UNC catalog search
Academic Journal Articles
Articles +
Provides a unified search of UNC library collections, including article databases, news articles, ebook content, and dissertations. Just enter your search terms and use the options on the left sides of the results screen to refine your search. From there you can quickly get to the full text online.
Academic Search Complete
Abstracts & references for articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade & general publications, & references for The NY Times.
BIOSIS Previews
A comprehensive biological sciences index that provides approximately 13 million records from nearly 5,000 life sciences journals and non-journal literature.
GeoRef
Provides access to worldwide geological literature. Articles from more than 3,000 journals are indexed, as well as books, maps, conference papers, reports, dissertations, and theses.
Environmental Science and Pollution Management
Comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences, including water resources and water pollution.
Internet Resources
Census of Marine Life - Marine Life Discoveries
NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory - Ocean Surface Topography from Space
N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources - Division of Coastal Management
NOAA's National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science
Scripps Institution of Oceanography - explorations e-magazine
Tree of Life - may be helpful in researching a specific organism
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) - Science Topics
Additional Resources
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science (online resource)
Stow (2006). Oceans : an illustrated reference.
Denny (2008). How the ocean works : an introduction to oceanography.
Librarian Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Science Libraries Chat
More Help
Introduction to Library Research
Writing Center Handouts
Tips to get you started and help along the way in the writing process.



Loading...
