Researchers are frequently asked to demonstrate the impact of their work for the purposes of grant applications or promotions.
Here are a few ways you can show your impact:
Create a citation report:
Calculate your h-Index:
Web of Science is a citation database that indexes journals, conference proceedings and books in the health and natural sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities from 1900 to present.
Search for citations by author. There are two methods to do this:
Place results on a Marked List:
Create Citation Report:
Web of Science Results with Marked List and Create Citation Report
Scopus is a citation database that indexes journals, trade publications and conference proceedings in the health and natural sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities with citation data available from 1996 to present. Scopus does not have complete citation information for articles published prior to 1996. NOTE: Access to Scopus has been renewed until June 2018.
Search for citations by author:
Select documents to include in citation report:
Create Citation Report:
Scopus Results Page
View Author Details:
Google Scholar Citations is a feature of Google Scholar that allows you to monitor citations to your articles. Citation information is extracted from the scholarly articles within the Google Scholar database and from U.S. patents in the Google Patents database. Google Scholar is a subset of Google that is designed to search for scholarly publications, including journal articles, theses, books and reports. Documents retrieved from Google Scholar should be verified for accuracy.
Google Scholar Citations provides:
To get started, you need to create a Google Scholar Citations author profile:
Click here to learn more about viewing citations and obtaining citation metrics for articles in your profile.
Publish or Perish is a free, downloadable software program that retrieves and analyzes citations from Google Scholar and, to a limited degree, Microsoft Academic Search.
Publish or Perish provides an interface to search Google Scholar and allows you to choose the documents to include in the citation analysis. Google Scholar searches for journal articles, theses, books, reports and other scholarly literature. Documents retrieved from Google Scholar should be verified for accuracy.
Once you have selected the documents that you wish to analyze, Publish or Perish will provide:
Results from Publish or Perish can be exported to a citation manager (e.g. EndNote) or a CSV file, which can be opened in Excel.