Select a topic below to start your begin your search.
This guide provides links to Medieval and Early Modern Resources in a variety of disciplines and formats. Digital editions have been preferred over print editions for this guide to provide for remote access.
- International Medieval Bibliography
This bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c 450-1500) indexes periodicals, books, essay collections, etc.
- IBZ Online (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
The IBZ Online is a universal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,000 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 1.7 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent. The search interface is in English. The print counterpart is Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur; earlier titles exist from 1896. (
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Provides indexing of the complete runs of more than 300 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
- Incunabula Short Title Catalog
The Incunabula Short Title Catalogue is the international database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library with contributions from institutions worldwide. The database records nearly every item printed from movable type before 1501, but not material printed entirely from woodblocks or engraved plates. Links are provided to online digital facsimiles wherever possible.
- MLA International Bibliography/ABELL
A major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies. Does not included classical languages.
- English Short Title Catalogue 1473-1800 (ESTC)
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) describes English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801, including books, lists, advertisements, rules, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral items. It contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies from 1473-1800.
- Editoria Italiana Online
A full-text database of monographs, serials, and conference proceedings in Italian Studies, focusing on literature and language, history, social sciences, religion, and arts.