Covers the origins of Western culture beginning with the earliest print resources from continental Europe to 1700. Built on the pattern of Early English Books Online (EEBO), this project is Europe-wide and will trace the history of printing in Europe from its origins to 1700.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1450 - 1700 Language: Various
Provides direct access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages. Included are translations and supporting materials (all of which are fully searchable); maps showing the routes of the travelers; introductory essays by leading scholars.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
A multi-year undertaking of Corpus Christi College, the Stanford University Libraries and Cambridge University Library, to produce a high-resolution digital copy of every imageable page of most manuscripts in the Parker Library of Corpus Christi College (Cambridge University Press, 1912).
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Language: Varies
Complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isles from 1500-1700. Contents include account books, advice, meditations, receipts, travel writing, and verse. Perdita manuscripts can be searched by name, genre, and first lines of both poetry and prose.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1500-1700
Explore the 800-year legacy of the Magna Carta with unique collection items, newly-commissioned articles by leading experts, videos and animations and a range of teaching resources. - See more at: http://www.bl.uk/magna-carta#sthash.2CJPFJC9.dpuf
PLRE.Folger, a project of the Folger Shakespeare Library (Washington, D.C.), complements the printed volumes of Private Libraries in Renaissance England (PLRE), an ongoing project that has published seven volumes since 1992 in the Medieval and Renaissance Texts and Studies (MRTS) series..
Founded with the generous support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Program in MEMS at UNC–Chapel Hill supports scholarly work that includes and expands the traditional focus of Medieval and Early Modern studies. This organization was preceded by CAMS (the Carolina Association for Medieval Studies), a scholarly organization designed to encourage, promote, and support the study of the European Middle Ages at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Gallica is the French aggregator for the European Digital Library, Europeana. Developed and maintained by the Bibilotheque Nacional de France, Gallica provides access to over one million items, including books, manuscripts, scores, audio files, and more. While Gallica is not exclusively dedicated to Medieval and Early Modern works, it maintains a very strong collection in this time period.
Access: No restrictions. Language: English, French
The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections (book and serial) of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.
The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world.
The ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. All articles have been judged by at least two peer reviewers. Authors are held to high standards of accuracy, currency, and relevance to the field of medieval studies.
An impressive collection of pertinent links, many of which appear throughout this guide. Includes links to online transcriptions and facsimiles as well as reference materials. Resources listed vary in level of scholarly engagement with the topic of inquiry.