Europeana provides one search for texts, videos, sound, and images from many European museums, archives, and libraries. It does not include collections outside of Europe, commercial projects, or websites otherthan libraries and museums.
The British Library's online gallery includes a wide range of subject matter, including a strong collection of medieval and early modern works. Since these are in the format of online exhibits, however, the content is subject to change. Each Online Exhibit includes features unique to the piece on display.
In general, exhibits include a digital facisimile, audio and/or video in which the curator and scholars discuss the work, and background information. Not infrequently however, the exhibit will only include background information and a single sample image of the work. Most useful to researchers is the Turn the Page feature in which the viewer can page through several important texts, such as Henry VIII's Psalter, the Codex Sinaiticus, and Vesalius De Humani Corporis Fabrica, among others.
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, British History Online aims to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.
This site provides digital facsimiles of complete manuscripts, scanned directly from the originals. One has access to over 80 early manuscripts now in institutions associated with the University of Oxford
The National Library of Ireland provides access to Irish Script on Screen, an aggregation of digitized Irish manuscripts from several worldwide institutions, as well as manuscripts in private collections. The project is supported by the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies.
While not exclusively dedicated to Medieval and Early Modern history, several collections included in the digital library are of interest here. The collections Scottish Book Binding, Mary Queen of Scots and Auchinleck Manuscript merit such a distinction.
In cooperation with the Biblioteca Ambrosiana in Milan, Italy, Professor Robert Randolf Coleman of the University of Notre Dame is producing this inventory-catalogue of the Ambrosiana's collection of drawings by European artists who were active from the fourteenth through nineteenth centuries. To assist researchers who wish to learn about the works represented in this important historical collection, may be searched free-of-charge from this site.
The Bibliographical Society of America's BibSite functions as a service to bibliographers by offering a means for scholars to provide public access to accumulated bibliographical research materials that may be useful to other researchers.
Authors may also contribute additions and corrections to published bibliographies and other bibliographical
The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. It bridges the gap between a diverse user community and the limited resources of libraries by means of sample imaging and extensive rather than intensive cataloguing. Hosted by Columbia University.
The Folger Shakespeare Library's Digital Image Collection provides online access to more than 30,000 images from the library's collection, spanning Shakespeare's lifetime through contemporary performances.
The Morgan provides online exhibitions as counterparts to physical equivilants. These exhibitions include medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, drawings and prints, literary and historical manuscripts, music manuscripts and printed scores, bindings and printed books, and art objects.
The collection spans some ten centuries of Western illumination, and contains manuscripts from all the major schools, including some of the great masterpieces of medieval manuscript art. The images and accompanying descriptions are the product of collaboration between the Library and the Index of Christian Art to photograph, digitize, and describe all significant illustrations within the Morgan’s medieval and Renaissance manuscripts.
Hosted by UCLA, this resource offers a simple and straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web. Very much a work in progress, the database will initially provide links to hundreds of manuscripts, which we expect quickly to grow to thousands. Basic information about the manuscripts is fully searchable, and users can also browse through the complete contents of the database.
The Camelot Project is designed to make available in electronic format a database of Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information. The project, begun in 1995, is sponsored by the University of Rochester and prepared in The Robbins Library, a branch of Rush Rhees Library.