Middle East Home: Books

Browse by Language

Select your desired language to view UNC Library offerings:

Turkish Arabic Persian Hebrew

Also find short stories in your preferred language: TurkishArabicPersian, and Hebrew

UNC catalog search

   

Catalog Tips and Useful Subject Headings

The following tips may ease your search for materials related to the Middle East:

  • When you find an on-target resource, you may want to check the record to locate other helpful titles with the same subjects or authors, or within the same call number range.

Below are some sample searches (Note that as you enter author, title, etc., in the search box, the catalog will generate suggestions for you to select as well):

 Authors

 Titles

 Subjects

 Keywords

Academic Book Examples

Here is a sample of the many academic print resources you can find at the UNC Library:

Arabic E Books

Al Manhal Database 

Is a full-text searchable platform of more than 5000 Arabic eBooks.

Users should create an Ebrary Reader account to be able to copy or print.

Rare Books & North Carolina Collections

Autobiography of Omar Ibn Said

In the Rare Book and North Carolina Collections there is a great value collection of resources from or about Middle East. Please use the Library catalog and limit your search by location “Rare Book Collection” or “North Carolina Collection” to find these resources.

Search Other Catalogs

Duke, UNC, NC State, and NC Central Universities


"Meta search engine for online catalogs of libraries all over the world"


Search over 70 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues

Center for Research Libraries

Check the CRL Middle Eastern Studies collection for resources and use Inter-Library Loan to get them.