This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Korean Media Resources " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Korean Media Resources   Tags: korea, korean, korean studies  

the library guide on Korean Media Resources aims to connect you with media resources related to Korea available at UNC at Chapel Hill.
Last Updated: Sep 5, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/kmedia Print Guide Email Alerts

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

UNC Catalog Search

   

Searchable using Korean as well as a romanized script for Korean resources. All the computers in Davis Library are able to input Korean scripts.

  • If your item is not available at UNC, try TRLN (Triangle Research Libraries Network).
    Search TRLN provides a single search interface to the TRLN Libraries' Collections.
  • If it is not within the libraries of TRLN, try Worldcat.
    Worldcat is a world-wide catalog of books, articles, visual materials, etc.

Korean Romanization: McCune-Reishauer system

Korean resources at Davis Library are searchable in Korean, as well as in romanization with the McCune-Reischauer system, based on pronunciation. The system is different from the official romanization system in Korea. Find out more:

ALA-LC Romanization Table for Korean

Korean McCune-Reischauer Romanization Dictionary

  • Romanize the Korean title/author/keyword using the M-R Romanization system.
  • Space after each word, a particle, lexical unit, etc.
  • Omit diacritics such as breve (˘), alif (’) and ayn
      

    Relevant Korean Databases

    • DBpia  
        
      DBpia is a full text database which covers more than 862,000 articles from 1,124 Korean scholarly journals in 12 subject fields, such as sociology, literature, economics & business, medical science, humanities, theology, law and administration, arts, engineering, natural science, and education. English materials are also availble.
    • KRpia  
        
      KRpia contains Korean historical materials and records in the fields of history, literature, folk culture, nature, Chinese medicine, religion, and materials related to Asian studies.

    Videos & DVDs

    Going to the advanced search features in the UNC catalog will let you search for items with a specific format (book, film, etc.) that you want.

    In Optional Search, choose  'Korean' for language and 'Videos and DVDs' for a format. You can see a list of media resources in Korean available at UNC libraries.

    Also you can use 'Korean' or 'Korea' as your keyword and choose 'Videos and DVDs' for a format. It will give you a list of media resources related Korea.

     

    Finding Books

    Start with Keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).
    Identify one or more relevant books. Click on LCSH given to those titles to find more titles.
    Use Advanced Search for more precise results.

    Examples:

    LC Subject Heading

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip