This is the "Home" page of the "My NCBI: Saving and Filtering Searches in PubMed, Managing a Professional Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

My NCBI: Saving and Filtering Searches in PubMed, Managing a Professional Bibliography   Tags: learning_module  

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/myncbi Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

We are here to help!

Email or Chat
FAQ
One-on-One Consultation 
Classes
Phone  919 - 962 - 0800
Text/SMS  919 - 584 - 5931

 

Access Information

On Campus Access: Electronic resources are accessible on-campus. Faculty, students and staff must register personal laptops and mobile devices with UNC Chapel Hill ITS.

UNC Hospitals Access: Electronic resources are available via the Library website by logging in with your Onyen. Note: UpToDate is available within EPIC.

Off Campus Access: Access resources off-campus via the Library website by logging in with your Onyen. Most electronic resources are accessible off-campus to students, faculty, and staff, including UNC Hospitals' staff.

Learn about off-campus access IDs.

Report an off-campus access or hospital access problem.

 

Introduction

My NCBI is a tool that provides customizable services for working with PubMed and other databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). With My NCBI, you can:

Save searches

Storing your PubMed search queries allows you to return at any time and run the search for new results. This makes it easy to regularly find the most recent information in your core areas of research and instruction.

Receive automatic email updates

Saving a PubMed search query also allows you to receive automatic email notification when new information relating to that search becomes available. This makes it easy to get the most recent results from your searches on a regular basis, straight to your email inbox.

Create and save collections of citations

You can store citations and abstracts of articles retrieved from PubMed searches in a My NCBI Collections folder. This is an easy way of organizing your results and holding onto relevant citations for future use, and there is no limit to number of collections or time stored.

Filter your search results

My NCBI will allow you to customize and narrow the way results are presented to you by applying preferred filters to your searches. Results can be grouped by area of interest; for example, only articles that focus on the etiology of a disease, clinical trials, or articles in English.

Create a personal bibliography

My Bibliography is a feature that helps you to collect all of your own personal citations from PubMed and save them in one place. You can also use this feature to check whether your publications comply with particular standards, such as the NIH Public Access Policy.

NOTE: You can use My NCBI with most of the databases produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information and the National Library of Medicine. If you would like specific help with databases such as GenBank, RefSeq, or OMIM, please let us know via our Ask a Librarian service.

Bioinformatics & Translational Science Librarian

Profile Image
Barrie Hayes
Contact Info
919.962.0264
335 S Columbia St, CB 7585
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip