This is the "Home" page of the "Volunteers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Volunteers  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/nchealthinfo-volunteers Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Content Contributors (Español: Voluntarios)

Francesca Allegri, Head of User Services, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fran has held education, reference and administrative positions in health sciences libraries. Currently she manages the Health Sciences Library's education and information services units, which include reference, circulation, reserves, media design, online and face-to-face instruction, and other public services. Her previous work included participation in a multi-institutional consumer health information network she helped form in Champaign, Illinois and evaluating and selecting published materials for the disabled for a literature guide.

Christine Andresen, MLS, Information Services Librarian, William E. Laupus Health Sciences Library, East Carolina University
Christine received her MLS from NC Central University and has worked at the Laupus Health Sciences Library since 2011. She currently serves as one of the liaisons to the College of Allied Health Sciences.

Jane Bahnson, JD, MSLS
Jane is a former registered dietitian for the National Institutes of Health, where she worked with pediatric oncology and AIDS patients providing inpatient nutrition supportive care and outpatient counseling. She holds a BS in Nutrition Science from the University of California at Berkeley and completed a dietetic internship at the Massachusetts General Hospital. Jane also holds a JD from the Georgetown University Law Center and an MSLS from the UNC School of Information and Library Science.

Molly Barnett, MLS, AHIP, Associate Director for Technical Services, Carpenter Library, Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Molly received her MLS from North Carolina Central University. She has worked at the Carpenter Library at Wake Forest University School of Medicine since 1988. When first hired, she worked in reference, and later in technical services and interlibrary loan. She specializes in electronic resource management and copyright and licensing issues.

Mary Bennett, PharmD, Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center
Mary is a Drug Information Specialist at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center. She holds a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy.

Megan Besaw, MLIS, Information Services Librarian, William E. Laupus Health Sciences Library, East Carolina University
Megan obtained her MLIS from the University of Pittsburgh, with a specialization in Medical Librarianship and Medical Informatics. She has worked at Laupus Health Sciences Library since November 2008.

Lindsey Chan, MSLS, Knowledge Management Analyst, Campbell Alliance
Lindsey received her MSLS from UNC-Chapel Hill in 2008 and previously worked as a Graduate Assistant at UNC's Health Sciences Library. She is currently employed in Knowledge Management at Campbell Alliance, a pharmaceutical and biotechnology consulting firm. Lindsey's interests include health literacy and consumer health information with a focus on cancer.

Karen Crowell, MLIS, Clinical Information Specialist, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Karen serves as the Health Sciences Library's liaison to clinical departments in the UNC School of Medicine and the UNC Health Care System.  For the past ten years, she has supported patient care in the Surgery department.  She attends case conferences during which surgical complications are discussed, providing information that can be used to improve patient safety and treatment outcomes.  She is editor of a consumer health information guide, and she and her colleagues partner with physicians in the UNC Family Medicine Department to provide quality health information on a blog for listeners of the Your Health Radio show.

Gina Firnhaber, RN, MSN, MLS, William E. Laupus Health Sciences Library, East Carolina University
Gina has a background in nursing and works with Information Services at the William E. Laupus Health Sciences Library at East Carolina University. Her primary interest is bridging the gap between literature and practice.

Ann Hallyburton, MSLS, Reference Librarian / Health Sciences Liaison, Western Carolina University
Ann’s work experience includes epidemiology research support and technical writing and editing. In addition to her MSLS, Anne has received advanced certification in public health concepts. Her research interests include ways in which end users (consumers and practitioners) evaluate health information.

Sarah Jeong, MLIS, Research & Instruction Librarian-Sciences, Z. Smith Reynolds Library, Wake Forest University
Sarah has worked at Wake Forest University since 2003. She has an MLIS degree from UNC Greensboro and a BS degree from Duke University. Sarah has also worked in vaccination research at the Carter Presidential Center in Atlanta, Georgia.  She has published articles on science librarianship in Science & Technology Libraries and North Carolina Libraries.

Beth Ketterman, MLS, William E. Laupus Health Sciences Library, East Carolina University
Beth received her MLS from NC Central University and has worked at the Laupus Health Sciences Library since 2001. She currently serves as the Assistant Director for Collections for the Laupus Health Sciences Library.

Lisa Kilburn, MLS, Information Resources Specialist, Southern Regional AHEC
Lisa received her MLIS from the University of Texas at Austin. She worked for 8 years at Cumberland County Public Library & Information Center, first as a reference librarian and later as a branch manager. In 2008 she was hired as a medical librarian by the Southern Regional AHEC.

Rochelle Kramer, MLS, AHIP, Reference Librarian, Carpenter Library, Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Rochelle has been a reference librarian at Carpenter Library since 1987. She is the liaison librarian to the Department of Family Medicine at Wake Forest University and has taught Medline, PsycInfo, and citation research for many years. She does both individual and group training, with an emphasis on using and creating bibliographic databases. She worked in several nonprofit and corporate libraries prior to coming to the medical school.

Maria Leblanc, MSW, MSLS, Head, Acquisitions & Library Systems Branch, Government & Heritage Library, State Library of North Carolina
Maria was Interlibrary Loan/Reference Librarian for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Library in Research Triangle Park. She managed the Kentucky Cancer Information Service, a program of the National Cancer Institute. In her previous career, she worked as a hospital social worker at Duke University Medical Center.

Adrianne Leonardelli, MLIS, Research & Education Librarian, Duke University Medical Center Library
After receiving her MLIS, Adrianne worked as a reference librarian at Forsyth County Public Library. She is now a member of the Information and Education Services team at Duke, where her primary responsibilities include providing reference, instruction and research assistance for students and staff, and developing subject guides and online tutorials. Her professional interests, consumer health information and promoting health literacy among health care professionals, evolved from her previous career as a registered dietitian.

Brenda M. Linares, MLIS, Librarian & Outreach Liaison, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Brenda provided consumer health information services both in English and Spanish at various health fairs in southern Florida when she worked for the University of Miami. She is currently the Liaison to the Institute on Aging and UNC Health Care. She also works and collaborates with AHEC.

Monique Mackey, MSLS, Director of Library/Information Services, Continuing Education and Quality Initiatives, Area L AHEC
Monique received her BS in Chemistry with a Minor in Biology from Mississippi University for Women and her MSLS from the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Information and Library Science. She was previously employed as a Certified Surgical Technologist for 17 years. She currently serves as the Director of Library/Information Services, Continuing Education, and Quality Initiatives for Area L AHEC, where she has worked since 1998.

Kate McGraw, MLS, Assistant Department Head of User Services, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
As the liaison to the UNC School of Dentistry, Kate provides education and information services to the school's faculty, students, and staff. Kate's interest in the intersection between information skills and quality dental care began when she worked as a dental laboratory technician in a private dental practice while earning her Masters in Library Science. Kate provided consumer health information services in her previous position at the Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore, Maryland.

Mark McKone, MLS, AHIP, Technical Services Librarian, Carpenter Library, Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Mark has spent much of his career as a cataloger and manager of Carpenter Library’s local integrated library systems. His current focus is metadata for Carpenter’s digital projects.

Barbara Moran, MLn, PhD, Professor, School of Information and Library Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Barbara is on the faculty at the School of Information and Library Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is Director of the School International Programs. She teaches primarily in the area of management and academic librarianship but has other interests including library leadership, genre fiction, readers' advisory services, and international librarianship.

Brian Moran, MA, LAc, Traditional Healing Acupuncture Center, Asheville, NC
Brian received an MA from Oregon State University and a graduate level Diploma in Acupuncture from the Jung Tao School of Classical Chinese Medicine. He is a Licensed Acupuncturist in private practice in Asheville. He is also on the faculty of the Jung Tao School.

Beverly Murphy, MLS, AHIP, Webmaster & Assistant Director for Marketing and Publications, Duke University Medical Center Library
A reference librarian at heart, Beverly has been at Duke since 1983.

Melissa Nasea, MSLS, AHIP, William E. Laupus Health Sciences Library, East Carolina University
Melissa has worked at the Laupus Health Sciences Library since 1982. She has worked in reference, cataloging, serials, and collection development. She currently serves as the History Collections Librarian. Melissa received her BA in Art History and History and her MSLS from Wayne State University.

Terri Ottosen, MLIS, AHIP, Consumer Health Outreach Coordinator, NN/LM Southeastern/Atlantic Region
Terri has served as the Consumer Health Outreach Coordinator for the NN/LM Southeastern/Atlantic Region since February 2005. She has worked in public, academic and medical libraries for over 14 years enjoying every aspect of library work from shelving to management. Terri has experience teaching, developing classes, budgeting, and consultation. She has served on many professional committees and is a distinguished member of the Academy of Health Information Professionals.

Bonnie Poston, MSLS, AHIP, Collection Development Librarian, Carpenter Library, Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Bonnie has worked in collection development at the Carpenter Library at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center since 1995. Previously, she worked in health sciences libraries in Ohio and Florida.

Megan Rudolph, MSLS
Megan received her MSLS from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she worked as a graduate assistant for NC Health Info. She has also worked as an Information Services Librarian at the Cumberland County Public Library.

Lara Sapp, MLIS, Reference Librarian, Carpenter Library, Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Lara received her MLIS from the UNC Greensboro in 2007. She joined the Carpenter Library staff after completing a Health Information Outreach Fellowship with the Briscoe Library at the Health Science Center in San Antonio, Texas. In this previous position, she provided consumer health information and worked with area health professionals.

Julia Shaw-Kokot, MLIS, AHIP, Assistant Head of User Services, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Julia's area of expertise includes both academic and Area Health Education Center libraries. At the Health Sciences Library her role is to provide both education and training. This involves working with a team to design, develop and provide education, information and liaison services for a diverse on and off campus community. Julia also serves as liaison to the School of Nursing and is a member of UNC Hospitals Nursing Research Council.

Jennifer Stuart, MLIS, Librarian, MAHEC Health Sciences Library, Asheville, NC
Jennifer Stuart is a librarian at the MAHEC Health Sciences Library. Before joining MAHEC, Jennifer was a reference librarian and a NC Master Trainer at Pack Memorial Library in Asheville, NC.

Lauren Tomola, MLS, Knowledge Management Librarian, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Lauren received her MLS from the School of Information and Library Science at the University of Chapel Hill. She currently works at the UNC Health Sciences Library, providing knowledge management support for the NC AHEC Digital Library. Lauren also coordinates and provides assistance to the volunteer editors on NC Health Info.

Brandi Tuttle, MSLIS, Information & Education Services Librarian, Duke University Medical Center Library
Brandi received her Master’s in Library and Information Science from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign in 2004. She has worked at Duke since January 2006. Previously she worked in reference and administration in a public library in Illinois and on various projects at North Carolina State University Libraries. She is responsible for providing reference, instruction and mediated searching for the staff, faculty, students, researchers and patients of the Duke Community. She is also responsible for creating online tutorials and subject guides. As a former public librarian, Brandi is painfully aware of the need for quality, filtered health information for the general public.

K.T. Vaughan, MSLS, AHIP, Pharmacy Librarian, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
K.T. received her MSLS from the UNC School of Information and Library Science in 2001 and completed a fellowship at NC State University in 2002. She returned to UNC-Chapel Hill in 2003 as an instruction librarian. In addition to her work as the liaison to the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, she provides online and in-room training for librarians on health and medical resources in NC LIVE for the State Library of North Carolina.

Jennifer Walker, MLS, Cancer Information Librarian, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Jennifer received her MLS from the University of North Texas in 2010 with a specialization in Health Informatics. She currently serves as the Cancer Information Librarian providing services to faculty, students and researchers from the five health affairs schools at UNC-Chapel Hill as well as to clinicians and patients at UNC Hospitals.  Prior to joining UNC,  Jennifer was the liaison to the College of Nursing at East Carolina University.

Kellie Walters, CHES, Mobile/Social Media Research Assistant, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina
Kellie is currently a Master of Public Health candidate in the Health Behavior department of the Gillings School of Global Public Health at UNC-Chapel Hill. In spring 2012, she graduated from Kent State University with a Bachelor of Arts in psychology and a Bachelor of Science in Public Health.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip