This is the "Intro" page of the "Open Access and Scholarly Communications" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Open Access and Scholarly Communications   Tags: open_access, scholarly_communications  

Last Updated: Jan 13, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/open_access Print Guide Email Alerts

Intro Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

News from the Open Access Tracking Project (OATP)

The OATP is a social tagging project to capture new OA developments comprehensively and in real time.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Scholarly Communications: Selected News 2012 - 2013

Better than joining the CHORUS(June 2013)

Kevin Smith, Scholarly Communications Officer at Duke University, explains the reasons why he would "rather SHARE than join the CHORUS".

SHared Access Research Ecosystem (SHARE)(June 2013)

"ARL, the Association of American Universities (AAU), and the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) have drafted a proposal, “SHared Access Research Ecosystem (SHARE)” (PDF), in response to the recent White House directive on public access to federally funded research and data."

Clearinghouse for the Open Research of the United States (CHORUS)(June 2013)

"The Clearinghouse for the Open Research of the United States (CHORUS) is a framework for a possible public-private partnership to increase public access to peer-reviewed publications that report on federally-funded research. Conceived by publishers, CHORUS would..." Full text of press release.

Plum Analytics and Altmetrics: In The News(May 2013)

"We are amazed at how quickly altmetrics has turned from a “fringe” topic to one that is on everyone’s mind. This is evidenced by how many people are writing and talking about it just in the past month alone. We want to share some of the most interesting of these articles so you can keep up with this emerging area..." Full text of blog posting.

New directive requires federal agencies to support increased public access to federally funded research(Feb 2013)

"The Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) hereby directs each Federal agency with over $100 million in annual conduct of research and development expenditures to develop a plan to support increased public access to the results of research funded by the Federal Government. This includes any results published in peer-reviewed scholarly publications that are based on research that directly arises from Federal funds..." Full text of the directive.

An emerging consensus for open evaluation: 18 visions for the future of scientific publishing (Oct 2012)

Nikolaus Kriegeskorte, Alexander Walther and Diana Deca D. An emerging consensus for open evaluation: 18 visions for the future of scientific publishing. Front. Comput. Neurosci. 6:94, 2012 doi: 10.3389/fncom.2012.00094

OA journals in biomedicine are approaching the same scientific impact and quality as subscription journals (July 2012)

Bo-Christer Björk and David Solomon. Open access versus subscription journals: a comparison of scientific impact. BMC Medicine, 2012

"The scientific impact of articles published in open access (OA) and subscription journals are similar when journal discipline, location of publisher and age of publication are compared, which is particularly true in medicine and health, where OA journals founded in the last 10 years receive on average as many citations as subscription journals launched during the same time." (Editor's Summary)  

 

Definitions

The Health Sciences Library supports Open Access, Open Archives, and Open Repositories as methods to encourage the widest possible access to scholarly content.

  • Open Access
    • Scholarly content made available free of charge to anyone upon publication.
  • Open Archives
    • Scholarly content in subscription publications made available free of charge after an initial embargo period.
  • Open Repositories
    • Digital collections of scholarly content on a particular subject or the collected intellectual works of an institution or group of institutions.

Resources for Learning More

  • Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook
    OASIS aims to provide an authoritative ‘sourcebook’ on Open Access, covering the concept, principles, advantages, approaches and means to achieving it. The site highlights developments and initiatives from around the world, with links to diverse additional resources and case studies. As such, it is a community-building as much as a resource-building exercise.
  • Open Access (SPARC)
    Links and resources include guides, presentation materials, and handbooks produced by SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) and other organizations.
  • Open Access Directory
    A compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large.
  • Open Access Citation Advantage: An Annotated Bibliography
    This annotated bibliography lists studies and review articles that examine whether open access (OA) articles receive more citations than equivalent subscription; i.e., toll access (TA) articles. Wagner, Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship, Winter 2010.
  • New Publishing Models Bibliography
    Chapter 7 in Bailey's Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography
  • Repository Resources (SPARC)
    Guides, presentation materials, and handbooks produced by SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) and other organizations that may be helpful for those interested in establishing, accessing, or just learning about online repositories.
 

Support the DOAJ

Support the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Since the launch of the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) in May 2003, the service has received much attention from the library community all over the world. The number of journals included in the directory has risen from approximately 300 to over 7500 and the number is continuously growing. All content can be harvested and integrated into the library's own collection.

The University Library at Lund University has on a voluntary basis developed and operates the service. The development of the DOAJ has been partly funded by, amongst others, the Open Society Institute, but from January 1st 2007 no further significant funding was available. In the long run my organization can not commit to the necessary funding without external contributions. We thus rely on your support to DOAJ.

A DOAJ membership offers you a tremendous opportunity to generate goodwill and support the Open Access movement as well as earn the appreciation of librarians and publishers.

                                 Björn Wittenmark
                                 Acting Head Librarian
                                 Lund University Libraries

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip